You are here

Press Releases

December 31, 2021
Idle and Orphan Oil and Gas Wells: State and Provincial Regulatory Strategies 2021

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK (December 31, 2021) –The Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC), released a report titled, Idle and Orphan Oil and Gas Wells: State and Provincial Regulatory Strategies 2021. The report updates and expands upon information previously published by IOGCC on idle and orphan oil and gas wells.

The new report provides updated information based on survey responses from 32 IOGCC member states and five Canadian provinces. IOGCC’s Council of Regulatory Officials provided direction and support for this publication.

November 10, 2021
Chair's Stewardship Awards

2021 IOGCC Chair’s Stewardship Award Winners

As Chair of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC), Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt awarded the 2021 Chair’s Stewardship Awards to the Railroad Commission of Texas, North Dakota Petroleum Foundation, North Dakota Oil and Gas Division, and EOG Resources. The award winners were recognized during the 2021 Annual Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico. 

Environmental Partnership Award:

June 29, 2020
Click for Webinar Info

State and Provincial Relief Measures

The sudden and unforeseeable COVID-19 pandemic and a global oversupply of oil has significantly affected state and provincial governments and oil and gas producers across North America. During this unprecedented time, jurisdictions are encountering unique challenges that require immediate planning and action. 

October 8, 2019
two men signing paperwork and two men standing in the background

EPA Administrator Andrew Wheeler and Governor Doug Burgum, Chairman of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission, sign a Memorandum of Understanding with support from North Dakota Senators Kevin Cramer and John Hoeven.

September 19, 2019
two men standing on stage, one receiving a small award by the other

Left to Right: North Dakota Governor, Doug Burgum with 2019 Marland Award Winner, Harold R. Fitch. 

MEDORA, NORTH DAKOTA (August 26, 2019) - Harold R. Fitch, a longtime Michigan oil and gas regulator, received the E.W. Marland Award at the 2019 Annual Conference of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC) in Medora, North Dakota.

May 23, 2018

The Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC) is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Chairman’s Stewardship Awards. These awards represent the IOGCC’s highest honor for exemplary efforts in environmental stewardship.

These awards recognize those companies and organizations that have gone beyond basic mandates and regulations to enhance our nation’s natural resources. The award-winning projects represent a few of the many positive programs initiated by the domestic oil and natural gas industry.

May 23, 2018

The Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC) voted unanimously to accept the Northwest Territories of Canada as an International Affiliate of the commission. The action came during the Commission’s business session in Oklahoma City on May 8th.The Northwest Territories, as represented by the Office of the Regulator of Oil and Gas Operations (OROGO), joins Alberta, British Columbia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Saskatchewan, and Yukon as affiliates.

May 21, 2018

The Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC) member states voted unanimously to adopt the 2019 slate of officers during the Commission’s annual business meeting in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma on May 8, 2018. Governor Doug Burgum of North Dakota will serve as 2019 Chairman, with Vice Chairman Richard Simmers of Ohio and Second Vice Chairman Charlie Burd of West Virginia. Gov. Burgum succeeds 2018 Chairman, Gov. Asa Hutchinson of Arkansas.

May 16, 2017

Boise, Idaho - Idaho was welcomed as a full member state of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC) during the 2017 IOGCC Annual Business Meeting in Oklahoma City this week.

May 10, 2017

Oklahoma City, Okla. -  national Natural Gas Storage Work Group released today a report on underground gas storage that evaluates potential vulnerabilities at gas storage operations and identifies prospective regulatory responses for consideration by state and federal agencies.