You are here

IOGCC Appoints Gov. Doug Burgum Chairman

The Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC) member states voted unanimously to adopt the 2019 slate of officers during the Commission’s annual business meeting in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma on May 8, 2018. Governor Doug Burgum of North Dakota will serve as 2019 Chairman, with Vice Chairman Richard Simmers of Ohio and Second Vice Chairman Charlie Burd of West Virginia. Gov. Burgum succeeds 2018 Chairman, Gov. Asa Hutchinson of Arkansas.

Governor Burgum led Great Plains Software as CEO through its initial public offering in 1997 and acquisition by Microsoft Corp. in 2001. He remained at Microsoft as senior vice president through 2007 and went on to start a real estate development firm and co-found a venture capital firm. He was elected as North Dakota’s 33rd governor in November 2016.

As Governor, Mr. Burgum also serves as Chairman of North Dakota’s Industrial Commission, serving alongside the state’s Attorney General and Agriculture Commissioner. Together, the three-person panel oversees regulation of the state’s oil, gas and mineral resources.

Governor Burgum received a B.A. in university studies from North Dakota State University in 1978 and completed an MBA from the Stanford University Graduate School of Business in 1980.