You are here

IOGCC Announces New International Affiliate

The Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC) voted unanimously to accept the Northwest Territories of Canada as an International Affiliate of the commission. The action came during the Commission’s business session in Oklahoma City on May 8th.The Northwest Territories, as represented by the Office of the Regulator of Oil and Gas Operations (OROGO), joins Alberta, British Columbia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Saskatchewan, and Yukon as affiliates. The IOGCC mission is to promote the conservation and efficient recovery of domestic oil and natural gas resources while protecting health, safety and the environment. With the addition of the Northwest Territories, the IOGCC now represents 38 states and 10 international affiliates.

As an international affiliate the Canadian territory is allowed to designate one or more representatives to attend and participate in meetings, deliberations and other commission activities. However, affiliate members do not have the authority to vote or hold office within the IOGCC.

The Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment, Government of the Northwest Territories, estimates that the Northwest Territories holds as much as 37 percent of Canada’s marketable light crude oil resources and 35 percent of its marketable natural gas resources.

For more information about OROGO: