You are here

2023 Annual Business Meeting

The IOGCC Annual Business Meeting will be held in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, May 22-24, 2023. The annual business meeting provides invaluable opportunities for the exchange of information and ideas. 

This meeting will bring together a wide range of participants, including governors, state and federal regulatory officials, oil and gas industry representatives, and non-governmental organizations, to advance IOGCC’s mission. IOGCC is a multi-state government agency that champions the conservation and efficient recovery and storage of domestic oil and gas resources while protecting human health and safety and the environment. A lineup of distinguished speakers will provide timely and relevant information on subjects important to our membership.

We look forward to seeing everyone and working together to have a successful event in May!


To register for the Annual Business Meeting, Click here.
Council of Regulatory Officials, Virtual Session, Click here.
Business Session, Virtual Session, Click here.

Hotel Information

Reserve your rooms now at the Skirvin Hilton, Oklahoma City.  

If you have problems making reservations, contact Bea Ann Phillips at [email protected].


Skirvin Hilton Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Monday, May 22, to Wednesday, May 24, 2023

Sunday, May 21st

7:30am–8:30am  Breakfast (Inspectors Only)

8:30am–12:00pm  State Oil and Gas Field Inspector Forum  (Inspectors Only) 

12:00pm–1:00pm  Lunch (Inspectors Only)

1:00pm–4:30pm  State Oil and Gas Field Inspector Forum (Inspectors Only)

Monday, May 22nd 

7:30am–8:30am  Breakfast (Inspectors Only)

8:30am–11:00am  State Oil and Gas Field Inspector Forum (Inspectors Only)

11:00am–5:00pm  Registration

11:00am–12:00pm  Finance Committee 

12:30pm–2:30pm Council of Regulatory Officials

 2:30pm–3:00pm  Break 

3:00pm–4:30pm  Council of Oil and Gas Attorneys

5:00pm–6:00pm  Opening Reception—Skirvin Hilton

Tuesday, May 23rd 

7:30am–5:00pm  Registration

7:30am–8:30am  Breakfast

7:30am–8:30am  Nominating Committee   

8:30am–10:00am  Orphan Well Task Force  

10:00am–10:30am  Break

10:00am–11am  Resolutions Committee 

10:30am–12:00pm  Legal and Regulatory Affairs Committee
"Updates on Draft  Model Pore Space Legislation - Committee Working Session"
                                 Discussion Leaders:  Reice Haase, Deputy Director, North Dakota Industrial Commission
                                                                       Kimberly Wurtz, Attorney

                                  "Updates on Environmental Protection Agency Rulemakings"
                                   Discussion Leader:  Taimur A. Shaikh, Ph.D., Senior Policy Advisor - Energy, Air and
                                                                        Radiation Division


 12:00pm–1:30pm  Lunch (On Your Own)

12:00pm–1:30pm  Steering Committee  

1:30pm–3:00pm  Energy Resources, Research and Technology Committee
 "DOE/National Labs/States Roundtable on Orphan Well Detection and

                              Methane Emissions Quantification Technology and Practices"
                              Discussion Leaders:   Andrew Govert, Methane Mitigation Technologies Division,
                                                                    Office of Resource Sustainability, Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon
                                                                    Management, United States Department of Energy 

                                                                   Hari S. Viswanathan, Los Alamos National Laboratory 

3:00pm–3:30pm  Break

3:30pm–5:00pm  Environment and Safety Committee 
                             "PFAS and How It Relates to Oil, Gas and Water"
                             Discussion Leader:  Dan Yates, Executive Director, Ground Water Protection Council

                             "Redefining the Waters of the United States"
                             Discussion Leader:  Matthias Sayer, Senior Vice President, Legal, NGL Energy Partners, LP

6:00pm–8:00pm  Reception — First Americans Museum

Wednesday, May 24th 

7:30am–11:00am  Registration

7:30am–8:30am  Breakfast

8:30am–9:30am  Public Outreach Committee
 "State Public Outreach Strategies Related to Orphan Wells  - Roundtable Discussion"
                              Discussion Leader:  Eric Vendel, Chief, Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management,
                                                                  Ohio Department of Natural Resources 

9:30am–9:45am  Break 

9:45am–10:45am  Public, Coastal and Tribal Lands Committee
                                Public Lands:  "BLM Updates and Waters of the United States"
                                Discussion Leader:  Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources,
                                                                    North Dakota Industrial Commission
                                Coastal Lands:  "Offshore Storage of Hydrogen and Carbon Dioxide and Offshore Wind"
                                Discussion Leader:  Catherine Dickert, Director, Division of Mineral Resources,
                                                                    New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
                               Tribal Lands:  "Indigenous/Tribal Engagement in IOGCC"
                               Discussion Leader:  Virginia Hullinger, Technical Services Manager,
                                                                    Oklahoma Corporation Commission

10:45am–11am  Break 

11:00am–12:30pm  Business Session 

12:30pm  Adjourn