You are here

2022 Annual Conference

The IOGCC Annual Conference will be held on the harbor in Baltmore, Maryland on October 16-18, 2022. The annual conferences have proven to be invaluable opportunities for the exchange of information and ideas. 

This meeting will bring together a wide range of participants, including governors, state and federal regulatory officials, oil and gas industry representatives, and non-governmental organizations, to advance IOGCC’s mission. IOGCC is a multi-state government agency that champions the conservation and efficient recovery and storage of domestic oil and gas resources while protecting  human health and safety and the environment. A lineup of distinguished speakers will provide timely and relevant information on subjects important to our membership.

We look forward to seeing everyone and working together to have a successful event in October!


IOGCC Annual Conference
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court
Baltimore, Maryland
Sunday, October 16 - Tuesday, October 18, 2022

Sunday, October 16th


Council of Regulatory OfficialsWhitehall

Opening Comments
            David Hardie, Council Chair/Alberta Assoc. Official

Roundtable Discussion


Council of Oil and Gas AttorneysWhitehall

Opening Comments
            Ryan Hoffman, Council Chair/Kansas Assoc. Official

Roundtable Discussion

5:00pm-6:00pm Opening Reception at Royal Sonesta Harbor CourtHamptons

Monday, October 17th

7:30am-5:00pm  RegistrationPrefunction
7:30am-8:30am     BreakfastHamptons

General SessionWhitehall

Kenneth E. Wagner, Executive Director, Hamm Institute for American Energy, Oklahoma State University, IOGCC Vice-Chair

The Honorable Mark Gordon, Governor of Wyoming, IOGCC Chair-Elect

2022 Chair's Stewardship Awards

The Honorable Joe Manchin, United States Senator for West Virginia (Video Message)

Lee O. Fuller, Officer—Environment and General Strategy, Independent Petroleum Association of America

Raisa Orleans, Director, Government Relations, Environmental Defense Fund

Steve Feldgus, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Land and Minerals Management, United States Department of the Interior

Joseph Giove III, Director of Business Operations, Office of Carbon Management, United States Department of Energy

Bruno Pigott, Deputy Assistant Administrator, Office of Water, United States Environmental Protection Agency

11:30am-1:00pm Lunch (On Your Own)

Environment and Safety CommitteeWhitehall

Updated IOGCC TENORM Guidance DocumentPanel Discussion

Virginia Hullinger, Technical Services Manager, Oklahoma Corporation Commission, Oil and Gas Conservation Division (Moderator)

Susanne Biteman, District Supervisor, Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy, Oil, Gas, and Minerals Division (Panelist)

Mark Bohrer, UIC and Treating Plant Manager, North Dakota Department of Mineral Resources, Oil and Gas Division (Panelist)

Chuck McCracken RRPT, Health Physics Administrator, Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management (Panelists)

EPA's Mapping System to Address Environmental Justice

Matthew Lee, Environmental Protection Specialist, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Environmental Justice

Status Update: Federal Perspective on Produced Water

Taimur Shaikh, Senior Energy Policy Advisor, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 6, Office of the Regional Administrator

1:00pm-2:00pm Resolutions CommitteeBrightons

Legal and Regulatory Affairs CommitteeWhitehall 

North Dakota's Regulatory Efforts In Achieving Class VI Primacy

               Kevin Connors, PCOR Partnership Program Manager, Assistant
               Director for Regulatory Compliance and Energy Policy, EERC

State Legal and Regulatory Updates on Pore Space Policy-Panel  Discussion

               Dave Flannery, Steptoe and Johnson PLCC (Moderator)

               Tom Kropatsch, Oil and Gas Supervisor, Wyoming Oil and Gas
               Conservation Commission (Panelist)

               Dylan Fuge, General Counsel, New Mexico Energy, Minerals and
               Natural Resources Department (Panelist)

               Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, North
               Dakota Industrial Commission (Panelist)


Energy Resources, Research and Technology CommitteWhitehall

CO Pipeline Safety

             Max Kieba, Director, Office of Pipeline Safety—Program
             Development Division, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration

Satartia Pipeline Analysis
             Bill Caram, Executive Director, Pipeline Safety Trust

Industry Perspective on COPipelines 
              Dr. Ryan Edwards, Manager of Climate Policy, Occidental

State Regulator's Perspective on COPipelines
              Mary Zanter, Pipeline Safety Program Manager, South Dakota
              Public Utilities Commission

5:30pm-7:00pmReceptionMaryland Science Museum

Tuesday, October 18th


8:00am-9:15amOrphan Well Task ForceWhitehall 

Joint Session: Public, Coastal, and Tribal Lands and Public Outreach CommitteeWhitehall

Indigenous-Led Restoration in British Columbia: A Holistic Approach

            Katherine Wolfenden, Land and Resources Coordinator, Fort
            Nelson First Nations

Winter Storm Uri, Outreach and Response to New Weatherization Requirements

            Natalie Dubiel, Attorney, General Law Section, Office of General
            Counsel, Texas Railroad Commission

11:00am-12:30pmBusiness SessionWhitehall


Registration Information

Click the link below to register for the Annual Conference in Baltimore:

If you are not able to join us in Baltimore, select sessions will be available via Zoom. You will need to register for each of the Zoom sessions individually by clicking the links below. These sessions are free of charge.

October 16, 2022 12:30pm-2:30pm ET

Council of Regulatory Officials 

October 18, 2022 11:00am-12:30pm ET

Business Session

For questions regarding registration, contact Dianne Jones at [email protected]


Hotel Reservations 

Reserve your rooms now at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore.

For a room at the government rate of $137 plus taxes, click here.

For a room at the standard group rate of $189 plus taxes, click here.

For questions regarding reservations, contact Bea Ann Phillips at [email protected]