2018 Annual Business Meeting


Please review the following agenda carefully. 

This agenda is subject to change until April 27, 2018. Please revisit this page to check for updates.

Sheraton Downtown OKC Hotel
Oklahoma City, OK 

 Sunday, May 6

12:00 pm - 5:00 pm



1:00 pm - 1:10 pm
Opening Remarks
Hosted by Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission Director and 2017 IOGCC 2nd Vice Chairman Matt Lepore

1:10 pm - 1:50 pm
States First Forum 

  • Online Field Oil and Gas Inspector Testing and Certification 
  • The New Look: FracFocus
  • State Oil and Gas Regulatory Exchange (SOGRE) Update
  • Updates to the Induced Seismicity report

2:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Council of State & Provincial Regulatory Officials

  • State/ Provincial Reports

4:00pm - 5:00pm
Energy Awareness Week 
campaign launch


5:00 pm - 6:30 pm


Networking Reception


Monday, May 7

7:30 am - 4:30 pm





7:30 am - 8:30 am

8:30 am - 12:00 pm

General Session 

Hosted by 2017 IOGCC Vice Chairman and Oklahoma Secretary of Energy and Environment Michael Teague

Welcome Remarks: Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection Secretary Patrick McDonnell

Featured Speaker: 2017 - 2018 Chairman and Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson

Realizing its Potential: Appalachian Energy Storage Hub

  • Congressman David B. McKinley, West Virginia
  • Brian J. Anderson, Director, West Virginia University Energy Institute
  • Steven Hedrick, President & CEO, MATRIC

12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Chairman's Stewardship Awards & Luncheon
Presented by 2017 - 2018 IOGCC Chairman and Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson

1:30 pm - 2:45 pm
Council of State Oil and Gas Attorneys
Chair: Shane Khoury, Deputy Director and General Counsel, Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission

  • Summary of State Statutes

1:30 pm - 2:45 pm
Environment and Safety Committee
Chair: Ben Schoffmann, President and CEO, Kakivik Asset Management, LLC

  • Beyond Compliance: Strengthening the Safety Culture of the Offshore Oil and Gas Industry
    Peter Velez, President, Peter Velez Engineering LLC 
  • Southwestern Energy – Fall Brook Restoration Project
    Roy Hartstein, Vice President of Strategic Solutions, Southwestern Energy

1:30 pm - 2:45 pm
Public Lands Committee
Chair: Patrick Padilla,

Deputy Director, New Mexico Oil & Gas Association

The Enforcement and Compliance Outlook for the Energy Sector
Doug Parker, President, Energy and Water Strategies

Round Table Discussion for House Bills 2661, 2907 & 3565

1:30 pm - 2:45 pm
Resolutions Committee

3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
International Committee
Chair: Dave Hardie, Senior Advisor, Alberta Energy Regulator
Vice Chair: Jennifer Steber, Executive Vice President, Stakeholder & Government Relations, Alberta Energy Regulator

  • Magnetic Ranging – Locating and Intercepting Wellbores
    Bryson Ewanchuk, Technical Advisor and Alan Gosse, Global Operations Leader, Halliburton
  • Maximizing Safety and Reliability Through Self-Regulation: Lessons Learned in the Nuclear Industry 
    Pete Milojevic, President and CEO, Midland Cogeneration Venture

3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Public Outreach Committee
Chair: Bethany McCorkle, Deputy Director, Ohio Department of Natural Resources
Vice Chair: Ian Wright, Development Manager, National Energy Foundation

  • Energy Awareness Week

  • Thomas B. Murphy, Co-Director, Marcellus Center for Outreach and Research, Penn State University
  • Offshore Energy Center

    Sandra Mourton, Executive Director, Offshore Energy Center

6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Welcome Reception
River Boat Cruise & Dinner

Tuesday, May 8

7:30 am - 11:30 pm       



7:30 am - 8:30 am



8:30 am - 10:00 am

Energy Resources, Research & Technology Committee
Chair: Tom Williams, President, RPSEA
Vice Chair: Scott Dawson, Bureau Chief, New Mexico Oil Conservation Division

State of the Art Drone Inspection – Going Above and Beyond
Brad Tomer, Vice President of Operations, Avitas Systems, A GE Venture

A Technology Transfer Model for the 21st Century
Jeremy Viscomi, Mid-Continent Regional Lead, Petroleum Technology Transfer Council

8:30 am - 10:00 am

Legal and Regulatory Affairs Committee
Chair: Ryan Hoffman, Director, Conservation Division, Kansas Corporation Commission
Vice Chair: Eric Vendel, Senior Legal Counsel, Division of Oil & Gas Resources Management, Ohio Department of Natural Resources

  • Committee Project Summary: Idle Wells 
    Ryan Hoffman, Committee Chairman

  • Alaska’s efforts to reduce idle well count and improve bonding practices
    Cathy Foerster, Chair and Commissioner, Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission

  • Regulating Shale Well Site Construction in the Challenging Appalachian Foothills
    Eric Vendel, Counsel, Oil and Gas Resources Management, Ohio Department of Natural Resources

  • Finding Regulatory Common Ground
    Trudy Curtis, Chief Executive Officer, Professional Petroleum Data Management (PPDM) Association

10:15 am - 11:30 am
Joint Committee Session: Energy Resources, Research and Technology & Environment and Safety

Review of Safety Leadership through Process Safety: An effort for applying and transferring safety processes to state regulators and operators

  • Trey Shaffer, Senior Partner, ERM
  • Kenny Jordan, Executive DirectorAssociation of Energy Service Companies
  • Mark Denkowski, Vice President of Operational Integrity, International Association of Drilling Contractors

11:30 am - 1:00 pm

11:30 am - 1:00 pm

Steering Committee
(Invitation only)

 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Business Session & Closing Remarks