
 

Idaho 
 

Administration 

1. Agency regulating oil and gas exploration/production:  Idaho Department of 
Lands  (IDL) 

2. Contact for regulatory updates: Paul Lowrey, Oil and Gas Program Manager, 208-
334-0243, Idaho Department of Lands, 300 N. 6th St., Suite 103, Boise, Idaho 
83702                                                                                                                    
Contact for leasing updates: Dave Schwarz, Minerals Leasing Program Manager, 
208-334-0260, Idaho Department of Lands, 300 N. 6th St., Suite 103, Boise, Idaho 
83702        

3. Docketing procedure: The Bureau Record Administrator will assign a docket 
number and enter the proceedings when a proceeding is instituted.   

a. Emergency orders: Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 52, Idaho Code. 

b. Notice: Varies based on the proceeding. Notice requirements are found in 
applicable statues and rules, including Title 47, chapter 3, Idaho Code and 
the Rules Governing Conservation of Oil and Natural Gas in the State of 
Idaho (IDAPA 20.07.02) 

4. Agency regulating air emissions: Idaho Department of Environmental Quality 

5. Agency regulating water quality: Idaho Department of Environmental Quality 

 

License 

1. License required: N/A 

2. Conditions of license: N/A 

 

Bond/Surety 

1. Purpose of surety: Regulation compliance, well plugging, surface reclamation, 
protection of surface estate if separate from mineral estate. 

2. Plugging and restoration: Both are required by rule, IDAPA 20.07.02 

3. Compliance bond required: Yes 

4. Types of surety accepted: Cash or surety bond 
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5. Conditions of bond: 

a. Amount per well: $10,000 plus $1 per foot 

b. Amount of blanket bond: Up to ten (10) wells, fifty thousand dollars 
($50,000); Eleven (11) to thirty (30) wells, one hundred thousand dollars 
($100,000); More than thirty (30) wells, one hundred fifty thousand 
dollars ($150,000). 

 

Land Leasing Information 

1. Leasing method: Cash bonus bidding at oral auction required. 
 

2. Notice method: No less than 30 days prior to the date of the auction in 2 
newspapers of general circulation in Idaho and in one or more major trade 
journals of the department's choice. 
 

3. Minimum bidding $ (per acre): $0.25/acre bonus 
 

4. Qualification of the bidder: Any person as defined under IDAPA 20.03.16.010.15 
 
 

5. State statutes: Title 47, Chapter 8, Idaho Code 
 

6. Maximum acres: 640 or one Section 
 
 

7. Royalty rates: minimum of 12.5% 
 

8. Agency in control of leasing: Idaho Department of Lands 
 
 

Setbacks  
 

1. What rules/regulations/policies does your jurisdiction have in regard to well 
setbacks from private residences and/or other habitable structures for use by 
humans or animals? Please see IDAPA 20.07.02 

2. Are there other sources of information on this matter that you could identify?   
N/A 
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Spacing 

1. Spacing requirements: 

a. Density: Oil well default spacing is one well per 40 acres.  Gas well 
default spacing is one well per 640 acres. 

b. Lineal: Oil well is 920 foot minimum.  Gas well has no analogous 
minimum linear distance.  

2. Exceptions: 

a. Basis: Discretion of the Department based on presentation of good cause 
by applicant. 

b. Approval: Application to be filed with Commission. Requirements listed 
in IDAPA 20.07.02.120.04 

 

Pooling 

1. Authority to establish voluntary: I.C.§  47-322. 

2. Authority to establish compulsory: I.C.§  47-322. 

 

Unitization 

1. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply:      
I.C.§ 47-323. 

2. Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of compulsory 
unitization: 

a. Working interest: A unit operations plan must be signed and approved in 
writing by owners who will be required to pay at least 55% of the costs if 
the unit operation and signed and approved in writing by the working 
interest owners of at least 55% of the production of the unit operations.  

b. Royalty interest: N/A 
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Drilling Permit 

1. Permits required for: 

a. Drilling a producing or service well: Yes  

b. Seismic drilling: Yes 

c. Recompletion: Yes 

d. Plugging and abandoning: Yes 

2. Permit fee: 

a. Drilling: $2,000 

b. Seismic drilling: $800 to $2500 (Depending on type and scope) 

c. Recompletion: $500 to deepen, $1,000 to treat or fracture 

d. Plugging and abandoning: $500 

3. Require filing report of work performed: Yes  

4. Sundry notices used: Yes 

 

Vertical Deviation 

1. Regulation requirement: 

a. When is a directional survey necessary: If well deviates from vertical.  
Bottom hole survey required for all holes. 

b. Filing of survey required: Yes 

c. Format of filing: Digital and paper. Digital formats must be Tiff and LAS 
2.0 or higher. 

 

Casing and Tubing 

1. Minimum amount required: 

a. Surface casing: 10% of total depth or 200 feet if pressures and formations 
are unknown.   Must be seated through a sufficient series of lithographic 
units of low permeability and competency such as claystone, siltstone, 
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basalt, etc., to insure a solid anchor for blow out prevention equipment and 
to protect usable ground water from contamination. 

b. Production casing: At least 100 feet of overlap in next larger casing 
required. 

2. Minimum amount of cement required: 

a. Surface casing: Cement to surface.  

b. Production casing: Depends on conditions and casing program design, API 
SPEC 10A must be followed. 

c. Setting time: API SPEC 10A must be followed. 

3. Tubing requirements: 

a. Oil wells: API SPEC 5CT must be followed. 

b. Gas wells: API SPEC 5CT must be followed. 

 

Hydraulic Fracturing 

1. Permitting: 

a. Before drilling: Submit a plan as per IDAPA 20.07.02.210  and 211. if 
fracturing is anticipated. 

b. Before fracing: Submit a plan as per IDAPA 20.07.02.210  and 211. 

c. How long before: No time limit for permit review, so allow as much time 
as possible. 

2. Reporting requirements: Post treatment reporting is required as listed in IDAPA 
20.07.02.210.06 and 211.05. 

a. Where reported: To IDL 

b. When reported: Within 30 days of well treatment 

3. Source water requirements: Source must be identified, or type of base fluid. 

4. Mechanical integrity: 

a. Cementing log required: Yes 

b. Pressure testing: Yes 
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c. Pressure monitoring: Yes 

d. Blowout preventer required: Yes 

5. Disposal of flowback fluids: 

a. Retaining pits: Method and timeline for fluid disposal must be in 
application, and post-treatment reporting requires verification of disposal.   

b. Tanks: Method and timeline for fluid disposal must be in application, and 
post-treatment reporting requires verification of disposal.  Temporary 
storage or evaporation is allowed. 

c. Approved discharge to surface water: No. 

d. Underground injection: No, Class II injection wells are currently not 
allowed in Idaho.  Idaho Department of Water Resources is seeking permit 
primacy for these wells from EPA.  

6. Chemical disclosure requirement: 

a. Mandatory: Yes 

b. Where disclosed: In application and report 

c. When disclosed (pre-fracing, post-fracing, both): Both 

d. Time limit to disclose: 30 days after treatment 

e. Information required to be disclosed: For well treatments generally: 
Additives, meaning any substance or any combination of substances 
including proppant, having a specified purpose that is combined with base 
treatment fluid by trade name, if available, and MSDS for each additive; 
Type of proppant(s); Anticipated percentages by volume and total 
volumes of base treatment fluid, individual additives, and proppant(s); 

For hydraulic fracturing specifically: (IDAPA 20.07.02.211.01)  

f. Trade secret protection: Yes 

g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel: Yes 

 

Underground Injection 

1. Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class: Idaho 
Department of Water Resources. 
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Completion 

1. Completion report required: Yes  

a. Time limit: 30 days after completion. 

b. Where submitted: IDL 

2. Well logs required to be filed: Yes 

a. Time limit: 30 days after being run. 

b. Where submitted: IDL  

c. Confidential time period: One year from date of filing the logs. 

d. Available for public use: One year from date of filing the logs. 

e. Log catalog available: Individual logs available through a Public Records 
Request with IDL 

3. Multiple completion regulation:  

a. Approval obtained: Yes, under IDAPA 20.07.02.201. 

4. Commingling in well bore:  

a. Approval obtained: Yes, upon approval by the Commission under IDAPA 
20.07.02.201. 

 

Oil Production 

1. Definition of an oil well: Any well capable of primarily producing oil in paying 
quantities, but not a gas well (IDAPA 20.07.02.10.33.). 

2. Potential tests required: 

a. Time interval: Within 30 days following the completion or recompletion 
of each well producing oil and gas. Thereafter as the Department may 
require. 

b. Witness required: No 

3. Maximum gas-oil ratio:  

a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio: Inefficient ratios that lead to waste are 
prohibited, but the ratio is not defined. 
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b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio: No 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: N/A 

5. Commingling oil in common facilities: Each well must be metered separately for 
royalty interest determination, then commingling may occur. 

6. Measurement involving meters: Yes, or by tank levels.  Corrections for 
impurities, temperature, and specific gravity are required. 

7. Production reports: 

a. By lease: Yes, monthly for state leases. 

b. By well: Yes, monthly for regulatory purposes. 

c.  Time limit: For regulatory purposes, reports must be submitted on or 
before the twenty-first (21st) day of the month following the production 
month. For state lease purposes, reports must be submitted on or before 
the thirtieth (30th) of the month following the production month.   

 

Gas Production 

1. Definition of a gas well: (IDAPA 20.07.02.10.24) 

a. A well which produces primarily natural gas;  
 
b. Any well capable of producing gas in commercial quantities and also producing 
oil from the same common source of supply but not in commercial quantities; or  
 
c. Any well classed as a gas well by the Commission for any reason. 

2. Pressure base ____14.73____ psia @ ___60_____degrees F. 

3. Initial potential tests: 

d. Time interval: Within 30 days following the completion or recompletion 
of each well producing oil and gas. Thereafter as the Department may 
require. 

a. Witness required: No. 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: N/A 
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5. Commingling of gas in common facilities: Each well must be metered separately 
for royalty interest determination, then commingling may occur. 

6. Measurement involving meters: Yes. 

7. Production reports: 

a. By lease: Yes, monthly for state leases. 

b. By well: Yes, monthly for regulatory purposes. 

c.  Time limit: For regulatory purposes, reports must be submitted on or 
before the twenty-first (21st) day of the month following the production 
month. For state lease purposes, reports must be submitted on or before 
the thirtieth (30th) of the month following the production month.   


