
   

OREGON 
 

Administration 

1. Agency regulating oil and gas exploration/production: Oregon Department of 
Geology and Mineral Industries, 229 Broadalbin Street SW, Albany OR 97321. 
Phone: (541) 967-2080, Fax: (541) 967-2075. 

2. Contact for regulatory updates: Bob Houston. 

3. Docketing procedure: 

a. Emergency orders: 

b. Notice: 

4. Agency regulating air emissions: Oregon Department of Environmental Quality. 

5. Agency regulating water quality: Oregon Department of Environmental Quality. 

 

License 

1. License required: Oil and Gas well permit.   

2. Conditions of license: Must obtain prior to drilling.  

Bond/Surety 

1. Purpose of surety:  Plugging and reclamation of the pad. 

2. Plugging and restoration: Yes. 

3. Compliance bond required: No. 

4. Types of surety accepted: 

5. Conditions of bond: 

a. Amount per well: $25,000 for well shallower than 10,000 feet; $50,000 for 
wells deeper than 10,000 feet 

b. Amount of blanket bond: $100,000 minimum and must equal the 
individual well bond amounts.  

c.  Amount per seismic drilling program: $50,000. This may be waived if 
operator has blanket bond.  
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Land Leasing Information 

1. Leasing method: Sealed bids or oral bid auction. 

2. Notice method: At least one public notice of each auction by publication in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the lands are located at 
least 30 days prior to the auction date.  

3. Minimum bidding $ (per acre): The minimum starting bid amount per acre will be 
set forth in the notice by the Director.  

4. Qualification of the bidder: A citizen of the U.S. of legal age or partnership or a 
corporation registered with the State Corporation Division, or a domestic 
governmental body.  

5. State statutes:  

Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR):  

§141-010-0010  
§141-010-0020  
§141-070-0020  
§141-070-0050  
§141-070-0060  
§141-070-0080  
§141-070-0090  
§141-070-0100  
§141-071-0535 - §141-071-0595 
 

6. Maximum acres: 640 acres. 

7. Royalty rates: N/A 

8. Agency in control of leasing:  Division of State Lands, Assistant Director, Field 
Operations. Phone: (503) 378-3895, Extension 279. 775 Summer Street, N.E. 
Salem, OR 97310-1337.  

Setbacks  
 

1. What rules/regulations/policies does your jurisdiction have in regard to well 
setbacks from private residences and/or other habitable structures for use by 
humans or animals? Site specific: Setback distances vary depending on site 
specific issues to mitigate an offsite impact. 

2. Are there other sources of information on this matter that you could identify? N/A 
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Spacing 

1. Spacing requirements: Yes. 

a. Density: 1 well/160 ac. In the mist gas field, no spacing requirement in 
wildcat area.  Spacing units are set when a discovery is made. 

b. Lineal: 

2. Exceptions: 

a. Basis: Based on geologic data showing the actual size of the pool at depth. 

b. Approval: Board approved. 

Pooling 

1. Authority to establish voluntary: Yes. ORS § 520.240. 

2. Authority to establish compulsory: Yes. OAR § 632-10-161, ORS § 520.220. 

Unitization 

1. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply: Yes.  

2. Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of compulsory 
unitization: Board approved, field specific. 

a. Working interest: N/A 

b. Royalty interest: N/A 

Drilling Permit 

1. Permits required for: 

a. Drilling a producing or service well: Yes. OAR § 632-10-010, ORS § 
520.025. 

b. Seismic drilling: Yes. OAR § 632-15-015, ORS § 520.095. 

c. Recompletion: Yes. OAR § 632-10-010. 

d. Plugging and abandoning: Yes. 

2. Permit fee: 

a. Drilling: $2,000. 
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b. Seismic drilling: $1,000. 

c. Recompletion: $1,500. 

d. Plugging and abandoning: $1,000. 

3. Require filing report of work performed:  Yes. 

4. Sundry notices used: Permit application and related notices. 

Vertical Deviation 

1. Regulation requirement: OAR § 632-10-0142. 

a. When is a directional survey necessary: If the well is deviated. 

b. Filing of survey required: Yes, OAR § 632-10-0142. 

c. Format of filing: N/A 

Casing and Tubing 

1. Minimum amount required: 

a. Surface casing: OAR § 632-10-014 - General control.  

b. Production casing: OAR § 632-10-014 - General control.  

 

2. Minimum amount of cement required: 

a. Surface casing: Total. 

b. Production casing: All fluid zones.  

c. Setting time: 12 hours. 

3. Tubing requirements: 

a. Oil wells: OAR § 632-10-132. Bottom of tubing on flowing wells not 
higher than 100 feet above the producing formation.  

b. Gas wells: Same as above. 

Hydraulic Fracturing 

1. Permitting: 
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a. Before drilling: Yes. 

b. Before fracing: Yes. 

c. How long before: Prior to permit issuance.  

2. Reporting requirements: yes 

a. Where reported: Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries. 

b. When reported: Within 60 days. 

3. Source water requirements: Yes, Oregon Department of Environmental Quality, 
Oregon Water Resources Department.  

4. Mechanical integrity: Yes. 

a. Cementing log required: Yes. 

b. Pressure testing: Yes. 

c. Pressure monitoring: Yes. 

d. Blowout preventer required: Yes. 

5. Disposal of flowback fluids: 

a. Retaining pits: Yes. 

b. Tanks: Yes. 

c. Approved discharge to surface water: Needs to be reviewed for approval. 

d. Underground injection: Yes. 

6. Chemical disclosure requirement: Yes. 

a. Mandatory: Non exempt. 

b. Where disclosed: Permit application. 

c. When disclosed (pre-fracing, post-fracing, both): 

d. Time limit to disclose: Permit application. 

e. Information required to be disclosed: All materials used. 

f. Trade secret protection: Yes. 

g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel: Yes. 
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Underground Injection 

1. Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class: Oregon 
Department of Geology and Mineral Industries, Oregon Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

Completion 

1. Completion report required: Yes. 

a. Time limit: 60 days. 

b. Where submitted: Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries. 

2. Well logs required to be filed: 

a. Time limit: 60 days. 

b. Where submitted: Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries. 

c. Confidential time period: 2 years. 

d. Available for public use: Yes. 

e. Log catalog available: Yes. 

3. Multiple completion regulation: Yes. 

a. Approval obtained: Yes. 

4. Commingling in well bore: No. 

a. Approval obtained: Yes. 

Oil Production 

1. Definition of an oil well: ORS § 520. 

2. Potential tests required: Yes. 

a. Time interval: Yes. 

b. Witness required: As requested. 

3. Maximum gas-oil ratio:  

a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio: Yes. 

b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio: Yes. 
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4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Yes. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: Yes. 

5. Commingling oil in common facilities: 

6. Measurement involving meters: Yes. 

7. Production reports: Yes. 

a. By lease: 

b. By well: Yes 

c. Time limit: Annually until the well is plugged. 

Gas Production 

1. Definition of a gas well: ORS § 520. 

2. Pressure base ___ psia @ ___ degrees F. 

3. Initial potential tests: Yes. 

a. Time interval: 60 days. 

b. Witness required: As requested. 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Yes. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: Yes. 

5. Commingling of gas in common facilities: Yes. 

6. Measurement involving meters: Yes. 

7. Production reports: Yes. 

a. By lease: 

b. By well: Yes. 

c. Time limits: Annually until the well is plugged. 
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