
KANSAS 
 

Administration 

1. Agency regulating oil and gas exploration/production: Kansas Corporation 
Commission, Conservation Division, Finney State Office Building, 130 S. 
Market, Room 2078, Wichita, KS 67202. Phone: (316) 337-6200. 

2. Contact for regulatory updates: Kansas Corporation Commission, Conservation 
Division, Finney State Office Building, 130 S. Market, Room 2078, Wichita, KS 
67202. Phone: (316) 337-6200. 

3. Docketing procedure:  

a. Emergency orders: Yes, emergency action may be taken by the 
Commission without notice and hearing, such action to remain in force no 
longer than 30 days from the effective date. K.S.A. 55-605. 

b. Notice: At least ten days prior to hearing. Kansas Corporation 
Commission, Conservation Division. K.S.A. 55-605 and K.A.R. 82-3-135. 

4. Agency regulating air emissions: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, 
Division of Environment, Bureau of Air. 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310, Topeka, 
KS 66612. Phone: (785) 296-1500. 

5. Agency regulating water quality: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, 
Division of Environment, Bureau of Water. 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 420, Topeka, 
KS 66612. Phone: (785) 296-1500. 

 

License 

1. License required: Yes, for every operator or contractor. K.S.A. 55-150, 55-155 
and K.A.R. 82-3-120. 

2. Conditions of license: Filing of a verified application, certificate of good standing 
from Secretary of State if applicable, payment of proper fees, financial assurance, 
and certified well inventory. Must display ID tag on each rig at all times. K.S.A. 
55-155 and K.A.R. 82-3-120. 

Bond/Surety 

1. Purpose of surety: Required by statute for an operator to receive a license. K.S.A. 
55-155. 

2. Plugging and restoration: No extra bond/surety required. 
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3. Compliance bond required: No, so long as the operator has an acceptable three-
year past record of compliance with rules, regulations, and orders, or can provide 
other means of financial assurance. K.S.A. 55-155 and K.A.R. 82-3-120. 

4. Types of surety accepted: Performance bond, letter of credit, fee, state lien on 
tangible personal property, other. K.S.A. 55-155. 

5. Conditions of bond: 

a. Amount per well: 75¢ times the aggregate depth for all wells drilled or 
operated. 

b. Amount of blanket bond: Ranges from $7,500 to $45,000 depending on 
the number of wells and depth. 

Land Leasing Information 

1. Leasing method: 

2. Notice method: 

3. Minimum bidding $ (per acre): 

4. Qualification of the bidder: 

5. State statutes: 

6. Maximum acres: 

7. Royalty rates: 

8. Agency in control of leasing: Kansas Department of Administration, Office of 
Facilities and Property Management. 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 500, Topeka, KS 
66612. Phone: (785) 296-6060. 

Setbacks  
 

1. What rules/regulations/policies does your jurisdiction have in regard to well 
setbacks from private residences and/or other habitable structures for use by 
humans or animals? No regulations regarding setbacks from homes, etc. These 
types of provisions are usually addressed in the Lease Agreement. 

2. Are there other sources of information on this matter that you could identify? N/A    

Spacing 

1. Spacing requirements: 

a. Density: Ten acres for oil and gas wells. K.A.R. 82-3-207 and 82-3-312. 

 KS 2 

http://www.kslegislature.org/li_2012/b2011_12/statute/055_000_0000_chapter/055_001_0000_article/055_001_0055_section/055_001_0055_k/
http://www.kcc.state.ks.us/conservation/cons_rr_110308.pdf#page=35
http://www.kslegislature.org/li_2012/b2011_12/statute/055_000_0000_chapter/055_001_0000_article/055_001_0055_section/055_001_0055_k/
http://www.da.ks.gov/fm/
http://www.da.ks.gov/fm/
http://www.kcc.state.ks.us/conservation/cons_rr_110308.pdf#page=53
http://www.kcc.state.ks.us/conservation/cons_rr_110308.pdf#page=65


b. Lineal: Gas and oil wells shall be located 330' or more from any lease or 
unit boundary line to qualify for a full allowable. K.A.R. 82-3-108, 82-3-
207 and 82-3-312. Also see Appendix I, Table B, EASTERN SURFACE 
CASING Order #133,891-C which requires notification to owners of 
water wells within 660 feet of an existing domestic or municipal water 
well. 

2. Exceptions: 

a. Basis: Oil wells drilled to a depth of less than 2,000 feet in certain 
counties in eastern Kansas have a lineal distance requirement of 165 feet 
from the nearest lease or unit boundary line. K.A.R. 82-3-108. Other 
exceptions to spacing requirements maybe granted by Commission order 
after notice of the application and possible hearing. K.A.R. 82-3-108. 

b. Approval: Commission order. Hearing if needed after notice. K.A.R. 82-3-
108. 

Pooling 

1. Authority to establish voluntary: Yes. Terms of contract (lease). 

2. Authority to establish compulsory: No. 

Unitization 

1. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply: Yes, 
upon application of working interest owner, notice, and hearing. K.S.A. 55-1300 
et seq. 

2. Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of compulsory 
unitization: 

a. Working interest: 63%  

b. Royalty interest: 75% for efficient management; 63% for secondary 
recovery units. 

Drilling Permit 

1. Permits required for: 

a. Drilling a producing or service well: Yes. K.S.A. 55-151, K.A.R 82-3-103. 

b. Seismic drilling: Yes. K.S.A. 55-151, K.A.R 82-3-103, 82-3-115a. 

c. Recompletion: No. K.A.R 82-3-103. Must notify Conservation Division or 
district office at least 48 hours prior to reentering an abandoned or plugged 
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well. K.A.R. 82-3-132. Completion report (ACO-1 Form) is required. 
K.A.R. 82-3-107 and 82-3-130. 

d. Plugging and abandoning: Yes. K.A.R. 82-3-113. 

2. Permit fee: 

a. Drilling: No. 

b. Seismic drilling: No.  

c. Recompletion: No.  

d. Plugging and abandoning: Yes. $.0325 per foot of well depth. Minimum 
$35. K.A.R. 82-3-118. For plugging seismic holes, minimum fee $5. 
K.A.R. 82-3-115b(k). 

3. Require filing report of work performed: Yes. Must be filed within 120 days of 
commencement of drilling operations. K.A.R. 82-3-130. 

4. Sundry notices used: No “sundry notice” form. CP-111 for temporary 
abandonment; CP-1 for well plugging; various other forms. 

Vertical Deviation 

1. Regulation requirement: Yes. K.A.R. 82-3-103a. 

a. When is a directional survey necessary: On all horizontal and deviated 
well completions. 

b. Filing of survey required: Yes, with the well completion report. 

c. Format of filing: No specific format required. 

Casing and Tubing 

1. Minimum amount required: 

a. Surface casing: Varies. Table I used to determine the required depth of 
surface casing and cementing requirements. K.A.R. 82-3-106. Cathodic 
borehole surface casing must comply with K.A.R. 82-3-702. 

b. Production casing: Casing must seal off and isolate producing and water-
bearing zones by being cemented in place. K.A.R. 82-3-105. 

2. Minimum amount of cement required: 

a. Surface casing: Varies. Table I used to determine the required depth of 
surface casing and cementing requirements. K.A.R. 82-3-106. 
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b. Production casing: Varies. Casing must seal off and isolate producing 
formations and usable water formations by being cemented in place. 
K.A.R. 82-3-105. 

c. Setting time: Eight hours and a compressive strength of 300 psi. K.A.R. 
82-3-106(d)(4). For cathodic boreholes, 24 hours or time recommended by 
grout manufacturer’s instructions. K.A.R. 82-3-702(b)(8). 

3. Tubing requirements: 

a. Oil wells: No. 

b. Gas wells: No, except for certain gas storage wells. 

Hydraulic Fracturing 

1. Permitting: No permit necessary for fracing. 

a. Before drilling: Drilling a producing well requires a permit. K.S.A. 55- 
151, K.A.R 82-3-103. 

b. Before fracing: No. 

c. How long before: Approved drilling permits expire one year from date of 
approval. K.A.R. 82-3-103(f). 

2. Reporting requirements: A completion report must be filed for any well within 
120 days of spud date, or date of commencement of recompletion. K.A.R. 82-3-
107 and 82-3-130. 

a. Where reported: Conservation Division. K.A.R. 82-3-107 and 82-3-130. 

b. When reported: Within 120 days of spud date. K.A.R. 82-3-107 and 82-3-
130. 

3. Source water requirements: Regulated by Kansas Department of Agriculture, 
Division of Water Resources. 

4. Mechanical integrity: No fracing-specific rules. 

a. Cementing log required: N/A 

b. Pressure testing: N/A 

c. Pressure monitoring: N/A 

d. Blowout preventer required: N/A  
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5. Disposal of flowback fluids: No fracing-specific rules. Would typically be done 
by underground injection. 

a. Retaining pits: No fracing-specific rules. Regulated by Conservation 
Division. 

b. Tanks: No fracing-specific rules. Regulated by Conservation Division. 

c. Approved discharge to surface water: No fracing-specific rules. Regulated 
by Kansas Department of Health and Environment 

d. Underground injection: No fracing-specific rules. Regulated by 
Conservation Division under the Class II program. 

6. Chemical disclosure requirement: Yes. See K.A.R. 82-3-1400 et. seq. (effective 
date 12/2/2013). 

a. Mandatory: Yes, on all hydraulic fracturing treatments exceeding 350,000 
gallons of total base fluid. K.A.R. 82-3-1401. 

b. Where disclosed: To the Conservation Division as part of the ACO-1 Well 
Completion Report or to www.fracfocus.com. K.A.R. 82-3-1401. 

c. When disclosed (pre-fracing, post-fracing, both): Post fracing K.A.R. 82-
3-1401. 

d. Time limit to disclose: 120-days from the spud date of the well. K.A.R. 
82-3-1401. 

e. Information required to be disclosed: (1) The base fluid used, including its 
total volume; (2) each proppant; and (3) each chemical constituent at its 
maximum concentration in the hydraulic fracturing fluid and its CAS 
number. 

f. Trade secret protection: Yes. K.A.R. 82-3-1401-1402. 

g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel: Yes. K.A.R. 82-3-
1402. 

Underground Injection 

1. Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class: 

Class I - Kansas Department of Health and Environment 

Class II - Kansas Corporation Commission, Conservation Division 

Class III - Kansas Department of Health and Environment 
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Class IV – N/A 

Class V - Kansas Department of Health and Environment 

Class VI - EPA 

Completion

1. Completion report required: Yes, ACO-1 Form. 

a. Time limit: Within 120 days of spud date. K.A.R. 82-3-130. 

b. Where submitted: Conservation Division. 

2. Well logs required to be filed: Yes 

a. Time limit: Within 120 days of spud date. K.A.R. 82-3-107 and K.A.R. 
82-3-130. 

b. Where submitted: Conservation Division 

c. Confidential time period: Request letter must be received within 120 days 
of spud date. One year from date of letter request. May be extended an 
additional year. K.A.R. 82-3-107(e). 

d. Available for public use: Yes, available through Kansas Geological 
Survey. 

e. Log catalog available: Yes, available through Kansas Geological Survey. 

3. Multiple completion regulation: K.A.R. 82-3-124. 

a. Approval obtained: By application. Hearing if needed after notice. K.A.R. 
82-3-124. 

4. Commingling in well bore:  

a. Approval obtained: By application. Hearing if needed after notice. K.A.R. 
82-3-123a. 

Oil Production 

1. Definition of an oil well: "Oil well" means a well that produced one stock tank 
barrel or more of crude oil to each 15,000 standard cubic feet of gas, as measured 
by the gas-oil ratio test prescribed by and reported on the form prescribed and 
furnished by the Commission. K.A.R. 101(a)(81)(I). 

2. Potential tests required: Yes, only in prorated pools. K.A.R. 82-3-202. 
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a. Time interval: In prorated pools, productivity tests within 30 days of filing 
(ACO-1) completion report. K.A.R. 82-3-202. 

b. Witness required: Yes. K.A.R. 82-3-202. 

3. Maximum gas-oil ratio: 15,000 standard cubic feet to one stock tank barrel of oil 

a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio: Special individual field rules provide 
for limiting oil production from high GOR wells. 

b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio: Petition of interested party. K.S.A. 55-
605. 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Not required unless by special order. 
Drill stem pressure tests are reported per ACO-1. K.A.R. 82-3-130, 82-3-107. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: No. 

5. Commingling oil in common facilities: Yes. The production from one or more 
common source of supply may be commingled before delivery to a purchaser. 
K.A.R. 82-3-125. 

6. Measurement involving meters: Yes, including electronic measurement devices. 

7. Production reports: Yes, only in prorated pools. K.A.R. 82-3-204. 

a. By lease: Yes. 

b. By well: Yes. 

c. Time limit: By 15th of succeeding month to the Conservation Division. 
K.A.R. 82-3-204. 

Gas Production 

1. Definition of a gas well: 

  (a) Produces gas not associated with oil at the time of production from that 

reservoir; or 

(b) Produces more than 15,000 standard cubic feet of gas to each stock tank barrel 

of oil from the same common source of supply, as measured by the gas-oil ratio 

test prescribed by and reported on the form prescribed and furnished by the 

Commission. 
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K.A.R. 82-3-101(a)(81)(E). 

2. Pressure base 14.65 psia @ 60 degrees F. 

3. Initial potential tests: Yes. K.A.R. 82-3-303 and 82-3-304 

a. Time interval: 30 days for multi-point tests; 30 days for initial one-point 
stabilized flow tests. Must be submitted to Corporation Commission 
within 30 days of test. Test may not be required for wells producing less 
than 250 mcf per day by “minimum well” exemption. For such “minimum 
wells” an annual shut-in pressure must be submitted with the request for 
testing exemption. K.A.R. 82-3-303 and 82-3-304. 

b. Witness required: Yes, if requested by Corporation Commission, or 
representative of any producer, purchaser, or transporter in the gas field 
from which the well produces. K.A.R. 82-3-304. 

c. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: No. 

d. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: No. 

4. Commingling of gas in common facilities: Yes. K.A.R. 82-3-125. However, 
production from each individual well must be metered. 

5. Measurement involving meters: Yes. K.A.R. 82-3-305 is the general rule, 
electronic gas measurement and measurement with a turbine meter is allowed and 
can be used in deliverability testing in certain prorated fields. 

6. Production reports: K.A.R. 82-3-306 

a. By lease: Yes. 

b. By well: Yes.  

c. Time limits: By 20th of succeeding month to Conservation Division. 
K.A.R. 82-3-306. 
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