
WYOMING 
 

Administration 
 

1. Official name of agency regulating oil/gas exploration & production:  Wyoming 
Oil and Gas Conservation Commission, P. O. Box 2640, Casper, WY 82602. 
Phone (307) 234-7147. 

 
2. Contact for regulatory updates:  Supervisor 
 
3. Docketing procedure: Oil and gas hearings are scheduled a year in advance, 

generally on the second Tuesday of each month. Applications are accepted and 
heard monthly and orders issued within 30 days. W.S. 30-5-103(c) and W.S. 30-
5-105.

 
a. Emergency orders: Emergency orders can be issued without notice and 

hearing. A regular hearing with notice must be held within 15 days. W .S. 
30-5-111 (c).

 
b. Notice:  Notice of hearings given by the Commission at least 10 days prior 

to the date of the hearing; 30 days on rule changes and on applications for 
aquifer exemptions.  Chapter 4, Section 12.  The Commission gives notice 
in all applications. Occasionally the applicant duplicates the notice. W.S. 
30-5-111(d).

 
4. Agency regulating air emissions: Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality
 
5. Agency regulating water quality: Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality

 
License 

 
1. License required: Supervisor must be licensed 

 
2. Conditions of license: Professional Petroleum Engineer or Petroleum Geologist 

W.S. 30-5-108. 
 

Bond/Surety 
 

1. Purpose of surety: Seismic Chapter 4, Section 6(h); Operating, Plug and Abandon, 
Idle Wells, Pits Chapter 3, Section 4; Split Estate W.S. 30-5-401 thru 410. 

 
2. Plugging and restoration: Chapter 3, Section 4 Idle Well Bond $10.00/foot. 

3. Compliance bond required: Yes 

4. Types of surety accepted:  
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a. Owner's surety bond. Chapter 3, Section 4 - $10,000 or $20,000 as 
applicable.  

 
b. Owner's blanket bond. Chapter 3, Section 4 - $75,000. 
 
c. Letter of Credit. Chapter 3, Section 6.
 
d. Certificate of deposit. Chapter 3, Section 5.  
 
e. Cash (cashier's check). Chapter 3, Section 5.

 
5. Conditions of  bond: 

 
a. Amount per well: Owner's surety bond. Chapter 3, Section 4 - $10,000 or 

$20,000 as applicable.  
 

b. Amount of  blanket bond: Owner's blanket bond. Chapter 3, Section 4 - 
$75,000. 

 
Land Leasing Information 

 
1.  Leasing method: Public Auction - no sealed bids sale; open oral bid - if no bid is 

received - offer the lease over the counter at first come first served basis. 
 
2.  Notice method: Advertise the sale in the newspapers in the Rocky Mountain area. 
 
3. Minimum bidding $ (per acre): $1.00/acre bonus. 
 
4.  Qualification of the bidder: A U.S. Citizen, 19 years of age minimum, and as a 

corporation, qualified by the Secretary of State to do business in Wyoming. 
 
5. State statutes: W.S. 36-6-101 and General Chapter 6 Rules of the Board of Land 

Commissioners. 
 
6. Maximum acres: 640 acres. 
 
7. Royalty rates: No. State Land and Investments Office regulates. 
 
8. Agency in control of leasing: State Land and Investments Office regulates. 

 
 

Setbacks 

1. What rules/regulations/policies does your jurisdiction have regarding well 
setbacks from private residences and/or other habitable structures for use by 
humans or animals?  N/A. 

 

WY  2 

http://soswy.state.wy.us/Rules/RULES/7928.pdf
http://soswy.state.wy.us/Rules/RULES/7928.pdf
http://soswy.state.wy.us/Rules/RULES/7928.pdf
http://soswy.state.wy.us/Rules/RULES/7928.pdf
http://soswy.state.wy.us/Rules/RULES/7928.pdf
http://soswy.state.wy.us/Rules/RULES/7928.pdf
http://soswy.state.wy.us/Rules/RULES/7928.pdf
http://legisweb.state.wy.us/statutes/statutes.aspx?file=titles/Title36/T36CH6AR1.htm
http://soswy.state.wy.us/Rules/RULES/7904.pdf
http://lands.state.wy.us/


 
2.  Are there other sources of information on this matter that you could identify?   

N/A. 
 

Spacing 
 

1. Spacing requirements: Yes 
 

a. Density: 40 acres for an oil well; 160 and 640 acres for a gas well; 40 and 
80 acres for a coalbed methane well. 

 
b. Lineal: For an oil well, not closer than 460 feet to the exterior boundaries 

of a 40-acre subdivision.  Same for a gas well or a coalbed methane well, 
center of NE/4 or SW/4 with 200 feet of tolerance on 40 acres, and the 
center of a 160-acre tract with 200 feet of tolerance. Chapter 3, Section 2.

 
2. Exceptions: Yes 

 
a. Basis: Geologic or topographic. 
 
b. Approval: Administratively in the absence of any objection; by 

Commission order should there be an objection. Chapter 3, Section 3 and 
Chapter 5, Section 16. 

 
Pooling 

 
1. Authority to establish voluntary: Yes. W.S. 30-5-109(c).
 
2. Authority to establish compulsory: Yes. 

 
Unitization 

 
1. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply: Yes. 
 
2. Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of compulsory 

unitization: 
 

a. Working interest: 80% 
 
b. Royalty interest: 80% 

 
Drilling Permit 

 
1. Require permits for: 

 
a. Drilling a producing or service well: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 8. 
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b. Seismic drilling: Yes. Chapter 4, Section 6.
 
c. Recompletion: Yes. Chapter 3, Sections 1, 10 thru 12. 
 
d. Plugging and abandoning: Yes. Chapter 3, Sections 14 thru 18.

 
2. Permit fee: 

 
a. Drilling: $50.00 drilling permit; good for one year. 
 
b. Seismic drilling: No fee 
 
c. Recompletion: $50.00 if  P&Ad. No fee if not P&Ad. 
 
d. Plugging and abandoning: No fee 

 
3. Require filing report of work performed: Yes. Form 4, for wells and pits; and 

Form 15A Seismic Completion Report for seismic projects. 
 
4. Sundry notices used: Yes. Form 4. Chapter 3, Sections 10 thru 12 and 17. 

 
Vertical Deviation 

 
1. Regulation requirement: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 24 and 25. 
 
2. When is a directional survey necessary: When doing controlled directional 

drilling, a plan shall be filed before drilling. Chapter 3, Section 25. 
 
3. Filing of survey required: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 25. 
 
4. Format of filing: Chapter 3, Section 25 with certification. 

 
Casing and Tubing 

 
1. Minimum amount required:  

 
a. Surface casing: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 22. 
 
b. Production casing: Yes.  Chapter 3, Sections  26 and 27; Chapter 2, 

Section 7. 
 

2. Minimum amount of cement required:  
 

a. Surface casing: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 22. 
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b. Production casing: Yes 
 
c. Setting time: Yes, eight hours. 

 
3. Tubing requirements: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 22. 

 
a. Oil wells: Yes 
 
b. Gas wells: Yes 

 
Hydraulic Fracturing 

 
1. Permitting: Yes 

 
a. Before drilling: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 45. 
 
b. Before fracing: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 45. 
 
c. How long before: Prior to initiation. 

 
2. Reporting Requirements: Yes 

 
a. Where reported: WOGCC, all treatments (Fee, State, Federal) 
 
b. When reported: Within 30 days of completion. 

 
3. Source water requirements: Approved by State Engineer’s Office
  
4. Mechanical Integrity: Yes 

 
a. Cementing log required: No 
 
b. Pressure testing: All casing required to be properly tested. 
 
c. Pressure monitoring: Yes 
 
d. Blowout preventer required: Yes, if wellhead is not installed. 

 
5. Disposal of flowback fluids: 

 
a. Retaining pits: Yes, if lined. 
 
b. Tanks: Yes 
 
c. Approved discharge to surface water: Yes (NPDES) 
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d. Underground injection: Yes, if approved by UIC Program 
 

6. Chemical disclosure requirement: 
 

a. Mandatory: Yes 
 
b. Where disclosed: WOGCC 
 
c. When disclosed (pre-fracing, post-fracing, both): both 
 
d. Time limit to disclose: pre-frac: prior to initiation; post-frac: within 30 

days of completion. 
 
e. Information required to be disclosed: Fluid types, additives, chemical 

compound name and CAS, and concentrations. 
 
f. Trade secret protection: Yes 
 
g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel: No 

 
Underground Injection 

 
1. Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class: WOGCC, 

Class II; DEQ, Class I, Class V, Class VI. 
 

Completion 
 
1. Completion report required: Yes, Form 3. 
 

a. Time limit: Within 30 days after completion. 
 
b. Where submitted: WOGCC 

 
2. Well logs required to be filed: Yes 
 

a. Time limit: Within 30 days after logs are run or within 30 days after 
completion of any further operation on it; if such operations involve 
drilling or redrilling. If requested, a 30-day extension to the filing due 
date may be granted. 

 
b. Where submitted: WOGCC. Chapter 3, Section 21. 
 
c. Confidential time period: Yes. Six months if requested. 
 
d. Available for public use: Yes 
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e. Log catalog available: Yes 
 

3. Multiple completion regulation: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 35. 
 

a. Approval obtained: Administratively, in the absence of any objection; 
otherwise by Commission order. 

 
4. Commingling in well bore: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 35. 

  
a. Approval obtained: Administratively, in the absence of any objection; 

otherwise by Commission order. 
 

Oil Production 
 

1. Definition of an oil well: Oil well shall mean a well the principal production of 
which, at the mouth of the well, is oil, as defined by the Wyoming Conservation 
Law, Chapter 1, Section 2(ii). 

 
2. Potential tests required: Yes. Form 3.

 
a. Time interval: Within 30 days. 
 
b. Witness required: Yes, by the operator; occasionally by the Commission. 

 
3. Maximum gas-oil ratio: No  

 
a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio: Occasionally. Only after notice and 

hearing in order to prevent subsurface waste and maintain the maximum 
reservoir pressure. 

 
b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio: Yes 

 
4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Yes 

 
a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: They can be, Chapter 3, Section 

36. 
 

5. Commingling oil in common facilities: Approved administratively on application. 
Adequate metering or measuring of oil must be assured. 

 
6. Measurement involving meters: No 
 
7. Production reports: 

 
a. By lease: No 
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b. By well: Yes 
 
c. Time limit: 30 days after production. 

 
Gas Production 

 
1. Definition of a gas well: Gas well shall mean a well the principal production of 

which, at the mouth of the well, is gas, as defined by the Wyoming Conservation 
Law, Chapter 1, Section 2(u). 

 
2. Pressure base 14.73  psia @ 60 degrees F. 
 
3. Initial potential tests: Yes. Form 3, and Forms 10 through 13. 

 
a. Time interval: When necessary. 
 
b. Witness required: Supervisor’s discretion. 

 
4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Yes 

 
a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: They can be. 

 
5. Commingling of gas in common facilities: Considered administratively on 

application. Adequate measuring and testing must be assured. 
 
6. Measurement involving meters: No 
 
7. Production reports: 

 
a. By lease: No 
 
b. By well: Yes 
 
c. Time limits: 30 days after production. 
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