
VIRGINIA 
 

Administration 

1. Official name of agency regulating oil/gas exploration & production: Department 
of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Gas and Oil  

P.O Drawer 159 Lebanon, VA 24266 
Phone (276) 415-9700 
Director : Rick Cooper 
 

2. Contact for regulatory updates:   

Michael A. Skiffington, Program Support Manager 
Dept. of Mines, Minerals & Energy, Division of Administration 
Washington Building 8th Floor 
110 Bank Street 
Richmond, VA 
Phone 804.692.3212   
                                                

3. Docketing procedure: Hearing an objection to permit applications held not less 
than 20 or more than 30 days from original filing of objection. Section 45.1-
361.35, Virginia Gas and Oil Act. 

Hearing on application for pooling order/drilling units held at next monthly 
Virginia Gas and Oil Board meeting if application made 30 days in advance. 
Section 45.1-361.20, Virginia Gas and Oil Act, and Regulation 4 VAC 25-160-30.
 

a. Emergency orders: Yes.  The Gas and Oil Inspector may issue an 
emergency order for 30 days.  Notice must be given and a hearing held to 
make emergency orders permanent. Section 45.1-361.27, Virginia Gas and 
Oil Act. 

b. Notice: The Gas and Oil Inspector must give notice ten days prior to a 
hearing on an objection to a permit application. Section 45.1-361.35, 
Virginia Gas and Oil Act. 

Applicants for a hearing before the Board must give notice to all gas, oil, 
coal or mineral owners on tracts subject to the hearing at least 30 days in 
advance. Section 45.1-361.19, Virginia Gas and Oil Act, and Regulation 4 
VAC 25-160-30.

 
The Board must publish notice of hearings at least 10 days in advance. 
Section 45.1-361.19, Virginia Gas and Oil Act.
 

4. Agency regulating air emissions: Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) 
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5. Agency regulating water quality: Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) 

License 

1. License required: Yes. 

2. Conditions of license: 4 VAC 25-150-80.Application for a permit:  

Persons required in § 45.1-361.29 of the Code of Virginia to obtain a   
 permit or permit modification shall apply to the division on the forms   
 prescribed by the director.  All lands on which gas, oil or geophysical   
 operations are to be conducted shall be included in a permit application. 

 

Bond/Surety 

1. Purpose of surety: 45.1-361.31  Bonding and financial security required. 

2. Plugging and restoration: Yes.  § 45.1-361.32. Gas and Oil Plugging and 
Restoration Fund. 

3. Compliance bond required: Yes. Section 45.1-361.31, Virginia Gas and Oil Act. 

4. Types of surety accepted: 45.1-362.31. Certificate of Deposit (CD’s), Cash, 
Surety Bonds acceptable by the Director 

5. Conditions of bond: Bond shall remain in effect to insure compliance with all oil 
and gas laws and regulations. Plugging portion of bond held for life of well; 
stabilization portion can be released by Gas and Oil Inspector when area stabilized. 
Section 45.1-361.31, Virginia Gas and Oil Act. 

a. Amount per well: An amount sufficient to plug the well and restore the 
site, not less than $10,000 per well plus $2,000 per acre of disturbed land. 
Section 45.1-361.31, Virginia Gas and Oil Act. 

b. Amount of blanket bond: One to 15 wells, $25,000; 16 to 30 wells, 
$50,000; 31 to 50 wells, $75,000; 51 or more wells, $100,000. Section 
45.1-361.31, Virginia Gas and Oil Act 

Land Leasing Information 

1. Leasing method: N/A 

2. Notice method: N/A 

3. Minimum bidding $ (per acre): N/A 

4. Qualification of the bidder: N/A 
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5. State statutes: N/A 

6. Maximum acres: N/A 

7. Royalty rates: N/A 

8. Agency in control of leasing: Leasing is the sole responsibility of the operators 
and/or citizens. 

Setbacks 

 
1. What rules/regulations/policies does your jurisdiction have regarding well 

setbacks from private residences and/or other habitable structures for use by 
humans or animals?  
 
4 VAC 25-150-520.  Setback restrictions. 
 
No permit shall be issued for any well to be drilled closer than 200 feet from any 
inhabited building unless site conditions as approved by the director warrant the 
permission of a lesser distance and there exists a lease or agreement between the 
operator and the owner of the inhabited building. 
 
 

2. Are there other sources of information on this matter that you could identify? 
 
(As Stated in Question #1)unless site conditions as approved by the director 
warrant the permission of a lesser distance and there exists a lease or agreement 
between the operator and the owner of the inhabited building. 

 

Spacing 

1. Spacing requirements: Yes. In the absence of field rules established by the 
Virginia Gas and Oil Board, statewide spacing, based on minimum distance 
between wells, is as follows: 

a. For oil:  not within 1,250 ft. of another well completed in the same pool, 
and not within 625 ft. of the boundary of acreage supporting the well. 

b. For gas:  not within 2,500 ft. of another well completed in the same pool, 
and not within 1,250 ft. of the boundary of acreage supporting the well. 

c. For coalbed methane gas wells:  not within 1,000 ft. of another coalbed 
methane gas well, and not within 500 ft. of the boundary of acreage 
supporting the well. 
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d. For coalbed methane gas wells located in the gob:   not within 500 ft. 
of another coalbed methane gas well completed in the gob and not within 
250 ft. of the boundary of acreage supporting the well. Section 45.1-361.17, 
Virginia Gas and Oil Act. 

2. Exceptions: Yes. 

a. Basis: The Virginia Gas and Oil Board hears unique testimony regarding 
each application for exception and renders a decision based on that 
testimony. 

b. Approval: All exceptions to statewide spacing must be approved by the 
Board and detailed in an order issued by the Board. Section 45.1-361.17, 
Virginia Gas and Oil Act, and Regulation 4 VAC 25-160-60. 

      
Pooling 

1. Authority to establish voluntary: Yes. Section 45.1-361.18, Virginia Gas and Oil 
Act. 

2. Authority to establish compulsory: Yes. By authority of by Virginia Gas and Oil 
Board. 

Unitization 

1. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply: Upon 
order of the Virginia Gas and Oil Board.  Sections 45.1-361.15, 45.1-361.20, 
45.1-361.21 and 45.1-361.22, Virginia Gas and Oil Act and Regulation 4VAC 
25-160-50. 

2. Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of compulsory 
unitization: 

a. Working interest: None set. 

b. Royalty interest: 25% interest of the unit on conventional wells and none 
set for coalbed methane wells. 

Drilling Permit 

1. Require permits for: 

a. Drilling a producing or service well: Yes.  Section 45.1-361.29, Virginia 
Gas and Oil Act, and Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-10. 

b. Seismic drilling: Yes.   Section 45.1-361.29, Virginia Gas and Oil Act, and 
Regulation   4 VAC 25-150-10. (c)  
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c. Recompletion: Yes. Section 45.1-361.29, Virginia Gas and Oil Act, and 
Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-10. (d)  

d. Plugging and abandoning: Yes.  Section 45.1-361.29, Virginia Gas and Oil 
Act. 

e. Permit transfers: Yes.  4 VAC 25-150-120. 

2. Permit fee: 

a. Drilling: Drilling and gathering pipelines:  $600 (Plus a $50.00 surcharge 
for the Orphaned Well Fund)  Section 45.1-361.29, Virginia Gas and Oil 
Act. 

b. Seismic drilling: Yes. $600. Section 45.1-361.29, Virginia Gas and Oil 
Act. 

c. Recompletion: Yes. $300. Section 45.1-361.29, Virginia Gas and Oil Act. 

d. Plugging and abandoning: Yes.  Section 45.1-361.29, Virginia Gas and Oil 
Act. 

3. Require filing report of work performed: Yes.  Section 45.1-361.27, Virginia Gas 
and Oil Act, and Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-210, 4 VAC 25-150-220, 4 VAC 25-
150-360, 4 VAC 25-150-380, 4 VAC 25-150-400, 4 VAC 25-150-420, 4 VAC 
25-150-460 as applicable. 

4. Sundry notices used: N/A 

Vertical Deviation 

1. Regulation requirement: Yes.  

a. When is a directional survey necessary: For any well penetrating a 
mineable coal seam and having an inclination greater than 1° from true 
vertical.  Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-280; when intentionally deviated, 
when deviated outside of a drilling unit boundary or on an exception 
location, Regulation 4 VAC 25-160-200. 

b. Filing of survey required: Yes.  

c. Format of filing: Yes. Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-360; Regulation 4 VAC 
25-160-200. 

Casing and Tubing 

1. Minimum amount required: 

a. Surface casing: Yes, casing is required by no definite depth is required. 
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b. Production casing: Yes, casing is require but no definite depth is required. 

2. Minimum amount of cement required: 

a. Surface casing: Yes. A minimum of 300’ or 50’ feet below the lowest 
groundwater zone whichever is deeper. Exploratory well or gas well in 
Tidewater region: Virginia Code Section 62.1-195.1. 

b. Production casing: Yes for coalbed methane gas wells, Regulation 4 VAC 
25-150-620. 

c. Setting time: Minimum of 8 hours and allow the cement to achieve a 
calculated compressive strength of 500 psi before drilling. Regulation 4 
VAC 25-150-530 and 4 VAC 25-150-610 

3. Tubing requirements: 

a. Oil wells: No. 

b. Gas wells: No.  

 

Hydraulic Fracturing 

1. Permitting: 4 VAC 25-150-80. Application for a permit 

a. Before drilling: Yes.  

b. Before fracing: Yes.  

c. How long before: Formations to be fractured are contained in the permit 
application. 4 VAC 25-150-230. Commencement of activity:  

A permittee shall notify the division at least two working days   
 prior to commencing ground-disturbing activity, drilling a well or   
 corehole, completing or recompleting a well or plugging a well or   
 corehole.  The permittee shall notify the division, either orally or in  
 writing, of the permit number and the date and time that the work is  
 scheduled to commence. 

2. Reporting Requirements: 

a. Where reported: Virginia Division of Gas & Oil Regulation. 4 VAC 25-
150-360 

b. When reported: Within 30 days of completion. Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-
10. 
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3. Source water requirements: N/A  

4. Mechanical Integrity: N/A 

a. Cementing log required: No. 

b. Pressure testing: Yes. 4 VAC 25-150-320 - 1. All pipe fittings, valves and 
unions placed on or connected with the well or corehole, as well as 
blowout prevention equipment, casing, casing head, drill pipe, or tubing, 
shall have a minimum working pressure rating of 110% of the maximum 
anticipated pressure that the material will be exposed to and shall be in 
good working  condition. 

c. Pressure monitoring: Not to exceed 110% of maximum anticipated 
pressure. 

d. Blowout preventer required: Yes. 4 VAC 25-150-320.Blowout prevention. 

Applicability. All wells shall be equipped to control formation pressure 
during drilling and servicing as follows: Blowout prevention equipment is 
required when formation pressures of 1,000 pounds or greater are 
encountered or are expected to be encountered, or when drilling in an area 
where there is no prior knowledge of the formation pressures to be 
encountered. 

5. Disposal of flowback fluids: Yes. 4 VAC 25-150-420. 

a. Retaining pits: Yes. 4 VAC 25-150-300. 

b. Tanks: Yes. 4 VAC 25-150-310. 

c. Approved discharge to surface water: Yes. 4 VAC 25-150-420. 

d. Underground injection: Yes. Division of Gas & Oil, 4 VAC 25-150-420. 
And Department of Environmental Quality. Both state and federal permits 
are required for a water disposal injection well.  

6. Chemical disclosure requirement: N/A 

a. Mandatory: N/A 

b. Where disclosed: N/A 

c. When disclosed (pre-fracing, post-fracing, both): N/A 

d. Time limit to disclose: N/A 

e. Information required to be disclosed: N/A 

f. Trade secret protection: N/A 
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g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel: N/A 

Underground Injection 

1 .  Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class: Division of 
Gas and Oil, Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-420, and Department of Environmental 
Quality.  

Completion

1. Completion report required: Yes. 4 VAC 25-150-360. 

a. Time limit: Within 30 days of completion. 4 VAC 25-150-10. 

b. Where submitted: Virginia Division of Gas & Oil. 

2. Well logs required to be filed: Yes. 4 VAC 25-150-360. 

a. Time limit: Within 30 days of reaching total depth. Electric log within 2 
years. 4 VAC 25-150-360. 

b. Where submitted: Virginia Division of Gas & Oil. 

c. Confidential time period: Yes - the earlier of 90 days after completion or 
18 months after well reaches total depth automatic or 2 years after 
completion or 4 years after well reaches total depth if well is certified as 
exploratory. Section 45.1-361.6, Virginia Gas and Oil Act. 

d. Available for public use: Yes.  

e. Log catalog available: No. (Working on process to make available.) 

3. Multiple completion regulation: No.  

a. Approval obtained: Yes. 

4. Commingling in well bore:  Yes.  

a. Approval obtained: None.  

Oil Production 

1. Definition of an oil well: Any well that produces or appears capable of producing 
a ratio of less than 6,000 cubic feet of gas to each barrel of oil on the basis of initial 
gas-oil ratio test. Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-10. 

2. Potential tests required: Yes. 4 VAC 25-160-200. 

a. Time interval: None.  
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b. Witness required: No. 

3. Maximum gas-oil ratio:  

a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio: Yes. 

b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio: Yes.  

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: No. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: No. 

5. Commingling oil in common facilities: Yes.  

6. Measurement involving meters: 4 VAC 25-150-400. 

7. Production reports: Yes. Section 45.1-361.38, Virginia Gas and Oil Act, and 
Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-210 and 4 VAC25-150-220. 

a. By lease: No. 

b. By well: Yes. 

c. Time limit: Monthly & Annually. 

Gas Production 

1. Definition of a gas well: Any well which produces or appears capable of 
producing a ratio of 6000 cubic feet (6 mcf) of gas or more to each barrel of oil on 
the basis of a gas-oil ratio test. Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-10. 

2. Pressure base __14.73_ psia @ __60____degrees F. 

3. Initial potential tests: Yes. 4 VAC 25-160-200. 

a. Time interval: None. 

b. Witness required: No. 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: No. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: No.  

5. Commingling of gas in common facilities: Yes.  

6. Measurement involving meters: Yes. 4 VAC 25-150-400. 

7. Production reports: Yes. Section 45.1-361.38, Virginia Gas and Oil Act, and 
Regulation 4 VAC 25-150-210 and 4 VAC 25-150-220. 
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a. By lease: No.  

b. By well: Yes.  

c. Time limits: Monthly & Annually. 
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