NORTH DAKOTA

Administration

Official name of agency regulating oil/gas exploration & production: North
Dakota Industrial Commission, Dept. of Mineral Resources, Oil and Gas
Division, 600 East Boulevard Ave., Dept. 405, Bismarck, ND 58505-0840. Phone
(701) 328-8020.

Contact for regulatory updates: Lynn Helms, Director
701-328-8020, Ihelms@nd.gov

Docketing procedure: North Dakota Century Code (NDCC) Section 38-08-11.
Upon application or motion of the Commission, a hearing before the Commission
is set at which time as will permit 15 days notice.

a. Emergency orders: Emergency orders may be issued by the Commission,
and shall remain in force until a proper order can be issued, after notice and
hearing, but not more than 40 days.

b. Notice: Fifteen days notice is required for all hearings except hearings
involving a complaint which requires 45 days notice. The Commission is
responsible for giving notice either by personal service or by one
publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the State Capitol and
in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the affected
property is situated.

. Agency regulating air emissions: North Dakota Department of Health

. Agency regulating water quality: North Dakota Department of Health

License

License required: a permit from the industrial commission under such rules as
may be prescribed by the commission

Conditions of license: The director may impose such terms and conditions on the
permits issued under this section as the director deems necessary

Bond/Suret

Purpose of surety: Purpose of surety: drilling and plugging bond
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Plugging and restoration: If the principal does not satisfy the bond's conditions,
then the surety shall satisfy the conditions or forfeit to the commission the face
value of the bond.

. Compliance bond required: North Dakota Administrative Code (NDAC) Section
43-02-03-15. Surety or Cash Bond.

. Types of surety accepted: collateral bond, self-bond, cash, or any alternative form
of security approved by the commission, or combination thereof

. Conditions of bond: Full compliance with the statutes, rules and regulations of the
Commission.

a. Amount per well: $50,000, except that wells drilled to a total depth of 2,000
feet or less may be bonded in a lesser amount upon administrative approval.

b. Amount of blanket bond: More than 1 well, $100,000. The $100,000
blanket bond is limited in its coverage to contain no more than six
unplugged dry holes, plugged wells with site not reclaimed, and/or
abandoned wells

c. Commercial disposal wells are not allowed on blanket bonds. Each such
well is bonded at the $50,000 single well rate.

d. Secondary recovery projects require a unit bond in the appropriate
amount as listed in paragraphs (a) and (b) above.

Mineral Leasing Information

. Leasing method: Oral bidding; but could be done with sealed bids. Sales are
generally held the first Tuesday of February, May, August and November.

Notice method: Sale list that is sent out to approximately 300 companies and
individuals that have asked to receive the list. Also, the sale is advertised in various
county newspapers.

Minimum bidding $ (per acre): Minimum of $1.00/acre. The sale list is generated
by an interested individual or company nominating a tract for the next available
sale. By the nomination, the nominee is agreeing to pay the minimum bid.

. Qualification of the bidder: No specific qualification. However, any bid can be
rejected.

. State statutes: NDCC 15-05 and 38-09

Maximum acres: 160 acres.
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7. Royalty rates: The lease for any tract within three miles of existing production will
be issued with a 1/6 royalty provision. Leases outside the three miles will be issued
with a 1/8 royalty.

8. Agency in control of leasing: North Dakota Department of Trust Lands

Drew Combs; Phone: (701) 328-2800; Email:
drew.combs@nd.gov

Setbacks

1. What rules/regulations/policies does your jurisdiction have regarding well setbacks
from private residences and/or other habitable structures for use by humans or
animals?

38-08-05. DRILLING PERMIT REQUIRED. It is unlawful to commence
operations for the drilling of a well for oil or gas without first obtaining a permit
from the industrial commission under such rules as may be prescribed by the
commission and paying to the commission a fee for each such well in an amount
to be prescribed by the commission. The applicant shall provide notice to the
owner of any permanently occupied dwelling located within one-quarter mile
[402.34 meters ] of the proposed oil or gas well. Unless waived by the owner or if
the commission determines that the well location is reasonably necessary to
prevent waste or to protect correlative rights, the commission may not issue a
drilling permit for an oil or gas well that will be located within five hundred feet
[152.4 meters] of an occupied dwelling. If the commission issues a drilling permit
for a location within five hundred feet [152.4 meters] of an (1-9) 08/2011
occupied dwelling, the commission may impose such conditions on the permit as
the commission determines reasonably necessary to minimize impact to the owner
of the dwelling.

2. Are there other sources of information on this matter that you could identify?

Spacing

1. Spacing requirements: NDAC Section 43-02-03-18. Within 30 days after oil or
gas is discovered in a pool not covered by an order of the Commission, a spacing
hearing is docketed. In the absence of an order of the Commission, the general
spacing regulations are as follows:

a. Density (vertical or directional oil well): 40 acres for vertical or
directional oil wells drilled and projected no deeper than the Mission
Canyon Formation; 160 acres for vertical or directional oil wells drilled or
projected deeper than the Mission Canyon Formation; 160 acres for gas
wells.

b. Lineal (vertical or directional oil well): Not less than 500 feet from the 40-
acre drilling unit boundary for vertical or directional oil wells no deeper
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than the Mission Canyon Formation and not less than 660 feet from the 160-
acre drilling unit boundary for vertical or directional oil wells deeper than
the Mission Canyon Formation. Not less than 500 feet to any 160-acre
drilling unit boundary for gas wells projected no deeper than the Mission
Canyon Formation and not less 660 feet to any 160-acre drilling unit
boundary for gas wells projected deeper than the Mission Canyon
Formation.

Density (horizontal oil wells): 320 and 640 acres for horizontal oil wells.

Lineal (horizontal oil wells): Not less than 500 feet from the 320 or 640-
acre drilling unit boundary for horizontal oil wells.

Density (gas wells): 160 acres for gas wells.

Lineal (gas wells): Not less than 500 feet from the 160-acre drilling
unit boundary for gas wells drilled or projected no deeper than the
Mission Canyon Formation; not less than 660 feet from the 160-acre
drilling unit boundary for gas wells drilled or projected deeper than the
Mission Canyon Formation.

Exceptions: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-18.1.

a.

Basis: Surface conditions require or well at proper location would not
produce in paying quantities, also, in order to protect correlative rights,
prevent waste, or effect greater ultimate recovery of oil and gas.

Approval: By order of the Commission after notice and hearing

Pooling

. Authority to establish voluntary: Yes—NDCC Section 38-08-08 and NDAC
Section 43-02-03-16.3.

. Authority to establish compulsory: Yes—Section 38-08-08 and NDAC Section 43-
02-03-16.3.

Unitization

. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply:
Yes—NDCC Section 38-08-09.1.

Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of compulsory
unitization: NDCC Section 38-08-09.5.

a. Working interest: 60%

b.

Royalty interest: 60%
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Drilling Permit

1. Require permits for:

a. Drilling a producing or service well: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-16.

b. Seismic drilling: Exploration permit required—NDAC Section 43-02-12-
04.

c. Recompletion: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-16.

d. Plugging and abandoning: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-33. (Includes
site reclamation).

2. Permit fee:
a. Drilling: $100.

b. Seismic drilling: $100. Regulated by the Industrial Commission, Qil and
Gas Division.

c. Recompletion: $50.

d. Plugging and abandoning: No.

e. Saltwater disposal well to be drilled: $100.
f. Injection well to be drilled: $100.

3. Require filing report of work performed: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-31.

4. Sundry notices used: for re-entry: N/A
Vertical Deviation

1. Regulation requirement: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-25.

a. When is a directional survey necessary: On all directionally and
horizontally drilled holes. On any well when the location of the bottom of
the hole is in doubt.

b. Filing of survey required: Yes, the survey contractor must file a certified
copy.

2. Format of filing: one certified electronic copy of all surveys, in a form approved
by the director, within thirty days of attaining total depth

Casing and Tubing
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1. Minimum amount required:

a. Surface casing: Yes, 50" below Fox Hills Fm—NDAC Section 43-02-03-21

b. Production casing: Yes—Per field order. Must be set and cemented
from a point no higher than the top of the producing formation to above
the uppermost sand of the Dakota group.

2. Minimum amount of cement required:
a. Surface casing: Yes. Must cement to surface.
b. Production casing: Yes.

c. Setting time: Yes. 12 hours surface casing. Production casing until tail
cement reaches a compressive strength of 500 psi.

3. Tubing requirements:

a. Oil wells: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-21. All wells must be
equipped with tubing set as near bottom as practicable. Flowing
wells to be equipped with packer. Can request waiver.

b. Gas wells: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-21. All wells must be
equipped with tubing and packer set as near the bottom as practicable.

c. Saltwater disposal wells: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-05-06. All wells
must be equipped with tubing and packer set immediately above the
injection zone.

d. Enhanced recovery: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-05-06. All wells must
be equipped with tubing and packer set immediately above the injection
zZone.

Hydraulic Fracturing

1. Permitting:
a. Before drilling: no
b. Before fracing: no
c. How long before: no
2. Reporting Requirements:
a. Where reported: Form 6 — completion report

b. When reported: within 30 days of completing the well
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3. Source water requirements: permitted by North Dakota State Water Commission

4. Mechanical Integrity:
a. Cementing log required: yes
b. Pressure testing: yes
c. Pressure monitoring: yes
d. Blowout preventer required: yes
5. Disposal of flowback fluids:
a. Retaining pits: in emergency 72 hour maximum
b. Tanks: required
c. Approved discharge to surface water: not allowed
d. Underground injection: required
6. Chemical disclosure requirement:
a. Mandatory: yes
b. Where disclosed: frac focus
c. When disclosed (pre-fracing, post-fracing, both): post-fracing
d. Time limit to disclose: within 60 days of completing fracture treatment

e. Information required to be disclosed: all elements made viewable by the
fracfocus website

f. Trade secret protection: no

g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel: if the director deems
it necessary to protect the public’s health, safety, and welfare.

Underground Injection

1. Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class:

Class 1 — North Dakota Department of Health
Class 2 — North Dakota Industrial Commission — Department of Mineral
Resources — Oil & Gas Division
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Class 3 - North Dakota Industrial Commission — Department of Mineral
Resources — Geological Survey

Class 4 — North Dakota Department of Health

Class 5 — North Dakota Department of Health

Class 6 — North Dakota Industrial Commission — Department of Mineral
Resources — Oil & Gas Division

Completion
Completion report required: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-31.

a. Time limit: 30 days except completion reports for discovery wells must be
submitted immediately.

b. Where submitted: North Dakota Industrial Commission, Oil and Gas
Division.

. Well logs required to be filed: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-31.

a. Time limit: 30 days.

b. Where submitted: North Dakota Industrial Commission, Oil and Gas
Division.

c. Confidential time period: If requested. 6 months.
d. Awvailable for public use: Yes.
e. Log catalog available: Yes.

Multiple completion regulation: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-26.

a. Approval obtained: Multiple completions can be approved by the Director.

Commingling in well bore: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-42.

a. Approval obtained: Order of the Commission or the Director, after notice
and hearing.

Qil Production

Definition of an oil well: NDAC Section 43-02-03-01. Any well capable of
producing oil and which is not defined as a gas well.

Potential tests required: Yes.

a. Time interval: First 24 hours after completion. Requested info under
Completion Report—Form 6.
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b. Witness required: No.

Maximum gas-oil ratio: 2,000/1. NDAC Section 43-02-03-39.

a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio: Yes. Commission may, after notice and
hearing, restrict production from well if deemed necessary to conserve
reservoir energy.

b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio: Yes. Commission may, after notice and
hearing, waive restrictions.

Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-41.

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: Yes. Per field order.

Commingling oil in common facilities: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-48.1.
Provided the volume is determined in barrels of oil through meter measurements
or tank measurements, and the production from each well can be accurately
determined at reasonable intervals. Commingling of production in a central
production facility from two or more wells having diverse ownership that is not
metered prior to commingling may only be approved by the Commission after
notice and hearing.

Measurement involving meters: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-48.2. Custody
transfer meters and allocation meters allowed with calibration requirements.

Production reports: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-52.

a. By lease: No.
b. By well: Yes.
c. Time limit: First day of second month following production.

Gas Production

Definition of a gas well: NDAC Section 43-02-03-01. A well producing gas or
natural gas from a common source of gas supply as determined by the Commission.

Pressure base 14.73 psia @ _60 degrees F.

Initial potential tests: Yes.
a. Time interval: First 24 hours after completion.
b. Witness required: No.

Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-41.
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a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: Yes, determined by order of the
Commission.

Commingling of gas in common facilities: NDAC Section 43-02-03-48.1. Only
by order of the Commission after notice and hearing.

Measurement involving meters: Yes—NDAC Section 43-02-03-14.2.  Sales
meters and allocation meters allowed with calibration requirements.

Production reports: NDAC Section 43-02-03-52.1.

a. By lease: No.
b. By well: Yes.

c. Time limits: Fifth day of second month following production.
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