
FLORIDA 
 

Administration 

1. Official name of agency regulating oil/gas exploration & production: Oil & Gas 
Section, Bureau of Mining & Minerals Regulation, 2051 E. Paul Dirac Drive, 
Tallahassee, FL 32310.  Phone (850) 488-8217. 

2. Contact for regulatory updates:  Dave Taylor, david.m.taylor@dep.state.fl.us 

3. Docketing procedure:  Hearings held on Department initiative by petition of a 
party of interest and after notice and publication (at least three weeks). Hearings 
held in office of Department unless otherwise designated. (F.S. 377.31) 

a. Emergency orders: Yes.  Order effective for 90 days only or until public 
hearing on the issue. 

b. Notice:  Department must give minimum of three weeks public notice. 

4. Agency regulating air emissions: Division of Air Resource Management, Florida 
Department of Environmental Protection, 850.717.9000 

5. Agency regulating water quality:  Bureau of Water Facilities Regulation, Dept of 
Environmental Protection, 850-245-8600 

 

License 

1. License required: 

2. Conditions of license: 

Bond/Surety 

1. Purpose of surety:  Plugging/Site Clean-up if operator goes bankrupt 

2. Plugging and restoration: Yes 

3. Compliance bond required:  Yes 

4. Types of surety accepted:  Bond, Letter of Credit, Cash or Asset Deposit, and 
Participation in Minerals Trust Fund (requires annual payments). 

5. Conditions of bond: 

a. Amount per well:  $50K for 0-9000 ft. $100K for >9001 ft.  Double these 
amounts if well is successful and will be retained under an operating 
permit. 
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b. Amount of blanket bond:  $1,000,000 (10 well limit). 

Land Leasing Information 

1. Leasing method: 

2. Notice method: 

3. Minimum bidding $ (per acre): 

4. Qualification of the bidder: 

5. State statutes: 

6. Maximum acres: 

7. Royalty rates: 

8. Agency in control of leasing:  Not regulated other than county filings.  

Setbacks 

1. What rules/regulations/policies does your jurisdiction have regarding well 
setbacks from private residences and/or other habitable structures for use by 
humans or animals?  N/A. 

 
 
2.  Are there other sources of information on this matter that you could identify?   

N/A. 
 

Spacing 

1. Spacing requirements 

a. Density:  40 ac (<7000 ft) and 160 acres (>7000 ft) for oil wells and 640 ac 
for gas wells. 

b. Lineal:  Longest diagonal (of other than a square unit) may not exceed 
length of diagonal of a square of same size unit by more than 25% for both 
oil and gas wells. 

2. Exceptions 

a. Basis: 10% of size of unit designated. 

b. Approval:  Director, Division of Water Resource Management, Florida 
Department of Environmental Protection. 
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Pooling 

1. Authority to establish voluntary:  Yes 

2. Authority to establish compulsory:  Yes 

Unitization 

1. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply:  Yes 

2. Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of compulsory 
unitization: 

a. Working interest:  75%. 

b. Royalty interest:  75%. 

Drilling Permit 

1. Require permits for: 

a. Drilling a producing or service well:  Yes 

b. Seismic drilling:  Yes. Permitting also required for Vibe, Gravity, and 
Magnetic surveys. 

c. Recompletion:  No, provided bhl meets original condition of permit. 

d. Plugging and abandoning:  Yes, prior approval is required, but no written 
permit is issued. 

2. Permit fee: 

a. Drilling:  $2000 

b. Seismic drilling:  $500 

c. Recompletion:  None, provided bbl meets permit requirements.  Drilling a 
new BHL outside of original drilling unit would require a new permit. 

d. Plugging and abandoning:  None. 

3. Require filing report of work performed:  Yes. 

4. Sundry notices used: 

Vertical Deviation 

1. Regulation requirement: 
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a. When is a directional survey necessary:  Intentional deviations in well or if 
sum of vertical surveys suggests a non- routine location (see 62c-26.004), 
or if H2S is expected. 

b. Filing of survey required:  Yes. 

c. Format of filing:  Directional report including coordinates per depth, well 
trace, and cross section. 

Casing and Tubing 

1. Minimum amount required: 

a. Surface casing:  Set below deepest underground source of drinking water. 

b. Production casing:  N/A 

2. Minimum amount of cement required: 

a. Surface casing:  Cemented to surface. 

b. Production casing:  Sufficient quantity of cement to fill the annular space 
at least 1,500 feet above the uppermost producible hydrocarbon zone. 

c. Setting time:  After cementing, drilling shall be discontinued for 12 hours 
if float valves are used; 24 hours if such valves are not used or do not hold 
pressure. 

3. Tubing requirements: 

a. Oil wells:  Yes. 

b. Gas wells:  Yes. 

Hydraulic Fracturing 

1. Permitting:  Not in current regulations.  Reviewed on case by case basis. Fracing 
generally not practiced in Florida.  All commercial oil/gas reservoirs are in 
limestone/dolomite. 

a. Before drilling: 

b. Before fracing: 

c. How long before: 

2. Reporting Requirements: 

a. Where reported: 
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b. When reported: 

3. Source water requirements:  

4. Mechanical Integrity: 

a. Cementing log required: 

b. Pressure testing: 

c. Pressure monitoring: 

d. Blowout preventer required: 

5. Disposal of flowback fluids: 

a. Retaining pits: 

b. Tanks: 

c. Approved discharge to surface water: 

d. Underground injection: 

6. Chemical disclosure requirement: 

a. Mandatory: 

b. Where disclosed: 

c. When disclosed (pre-fracing, post-fracing, both): 

d. Time limit to disclose: 

e. Information required to be disclosed: 

f. Trade secret protection: 

g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel: 

Underground Injection 

1. Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class: 

a. Class II:  Regulated by both EPA Atlanta and Florida Department of 
Environmental Protection, Oil & Gas Section. 

b. Other Classes:  Regulated by UIC Section, Florida Department of 
Environmental Protection, 850-245-8655. 
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Completion

1. Completion report required: 

a. Time limit:  30 days. 

b. Where submitted:  Oil & Gas Section Office in Tallahassee. 

2. Well logs required to be filed 

a. Time limit: 30 days. 

b. Where submitted: Oil & Gas Section Office in Tallahassee. 

c. Confidential time period:  1 year. 

d. Available for public use:  After 1 year. 

e. Log catalog available:  Yes, and most logs are also available digitally. 

3. Multiple completion regulation:  Yes. One permit per surface hole. 

a. Approval obtained:  As part of drilling permit. Bottom hole targets can be 
changed with approval of Department field inspectors. 

4. Commingling in well bore:  No 

a. Approval obtained:  N/A 

Oil Production 

1. Definition of an oil well:  None. 

a. Potential tests required:  MIT, BOP 

b. Time interval:  BOP:  Weekly.  MIT:  5yr (production wells), 2 yr (Class 
II wells) 

c. Witness required:  Not required, but encouraged. 

2. Maximum gas-oil ratio: 2,000 cubic feet of gas to 1 Bbl of oil. 

a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio:  Yes.   Any well producing more than 
2,000 GOR reduced to daily oil allowable x 2,000 divided by GOR. 

b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio:  No. 

3. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required:  Yes. 
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a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys:  Yes. 

4. Commingling oil in common facilities:  Yes, if field is unitized or meters are 
utilized prior to commingling. 

5. Measurement involving meters:  Yes. 

6. Production reports: 

a. By lease:  No. 

b. By well:  Yes. 

c. Time limit:  30 days. 

Gas Production 

1. Definition of a gas well:  None 

2. Pressure base 14.65  psia @ 60 degrees F. 

3. Initial potential tests: Yes. (No gas wells in Florida.) 

a. Time interval:  Five days. 

b. Witness required:  They may be witnessed. 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required:  Yes. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys:  Yes. 

5. Commingling of gas in common facilities: Yes, if field is unitized or meters are 
utilized prior to commingling. 

6. Measurement involving meters:  Yes. 

7. Production reports: 

a. By lease: No. 

b. By well:  Yes. 

c. Time limits:  30 days. 

 

FL  7 


