2018 Annual Conference 

Coeur d'Alene, Idaho 

September 30, - October 2, 2018

General Session
Monday, October 1, 2018 

The Honorable Doug Burgum
Governor of North Dakota
Incoming Chairman's Address by Doug Burgum, Governor of North Dakota. For the slideshow referenced in the video, click here: Governor Burgum's Slideshow

Council of State and Provincial Oil & Gas Regulatory Officials 
Sunday, September 30, 2018

Lawrence E. Bengal, Director, Arkansas Oil & Gas Commission and Gary Looney, Assistant Director/Pipeline Program Administrator, Arkansas Oil & Gas Commission
“How to get certified with PHMSA”

Energy Research, Resources and Technology Committee
Chair: Scott Dawson, New Mexico 

Vice Chair: Tom Williams, Texas

Daniel Zimmerle - Senior Research Associate, Energy Institute, Colorado State University 
"The Path To Equivalency: Adopting new Technologies for Leak Detection in Natural Gas Systems"

Lloyd Hetrick - Operations Engineering Advisor, Newfield Exploration Company 
"Well to Well Communications aka 'Frack Hits' Discussed"

Tyler James - Technical Sales, CSI Technologies
“Epoxy Resin Demonstrations Integrity and Financial Advantages in O&G Well Abandonment”

 Alan Krupnick - Senior Fellow, Resources for the Future
"Demonstrating the Shale Research Clearinghouse"

Environment and Safety Committee
Chair: Adam Wygant, Michigan

Sam Sankar - Executive Director, Environmental Council of the States (ECOS)
"Shale Gas Caucus and Wise Environmental Policy for Oil and Gas Industry without Creating Legacy Issues”

Al Collins - Senior Director of Regulatory Affairs, OXY
“A Corporate Perspective on Carbon Capture, Utilization and Sequestration and 45Q”

International Committee
Chair: Trevor Swan, British Columbia
Vice Chair: David Hardie, Alberta 

International Presentations Combined

Sean Curry - Vice President Operational Policy & Environment, British Columbia Oil & Gas Commission 
“Stewardship Tools for Informing Development”

Charles Porter - Vice President Strategic Engagement, British Columbia Oil & Gas Commission 
“Two Topics: First Nations Engagement and Community and Landowner Engagement”

 Leonard Hiebert - Area Director, Peace River Regional District
"Effectiveness of Community and Landowner Engagement"

Legal and Regulatory Affairs Committee
Chair: Ryan Hoffman, Kansas
Vice Chair: Eric Vendel, Ohio

Dave Schwarz - Oil & Gas Field Inspector, Idaho Department of Lands
“Lease Development Issues in Idaho”

 John Peiserich - Partner, PPGMR Law, PLLC 
“Produced Water Ownership and Its Treatment as an Economic Product”

Public Lands Committee
Chair: Patrick Padilla, New Mexico

Matthias Sayer - Deputy Cabinet Secretary, New Mexico Energy, Minerals & Natural Resources Department 
"Endangered Species Act Modernization"

Robert Wood - Director, Engineering & Analysis Division, EPA Office of Water
"Status of EPA’s Produced Water Study"

Public Outreach Committee
Chair: Ian Wright, Utah
Vice Chair: Mark Truax, Colorado 

Katie Haarsager - Public Information Specialist for North Dakota Industrial Commission Department of Mineral Resources, Oil & Gas Division
“North Dakota #ShowYourEnergy Program and Public Outreach Efforts”

 Kevin Brooks - Program Manager, Utah Office of Energy Development 
“Office of Energy Development (OED) Educational Outreach Program”

 Alex Epstein - President, Center for Industrial Progress
"The 3 Communication Obstacles Oil and Gas Supporters Face--and How to Overcome Them"