2014 Annual Conference
Columbus, Ohio
October 19 - 21, 2014


Council of State Regulatory & Provincial Officials

Jared Ciferno, Director of the Strategic Center for Natural Gas & Oil, National Energy Technology Laboratory
>>Fossil Energy’s Oil and Gas Program
- Advancing Technologies to Ensure Safe and Prudent Oil & Gas Development


Public Lands Committee

Samantha McDonald, Government Relations Manager, IPAA
>>The Endangered Species Act: A Federal Update on an Evolving Statute

Brad Thomas, Senior Environmental Scientist, Regulatory Affairs Coordinator & Randall Kanady, Staff Drilling Engineer, ConocoPhillips Alaska
>>Drill Rigs: Air Regulation & Impact Management

Greg Gould, Director, Office of Natural Resources Revenue, US Department of Interior
>>US Extractives Industries Transparency Initiative


Legal & Regulatory Affairs Committee

Panel: State Regulatory Emergency Response Plan

Michael Teague, Oklahoma Secretary of Energy and Environment

>>Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, North Dakota Industrial Commission

Michael Williams, General Counsel, Ohio Department of Natural Resources

>>Rhonda Reda, Executive Director, Ohio Oil & Gas Energy Education Program


International Committee

Michael Celata, Deputy Director, Gulf of Mexico Region, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
​Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Offshore Oil and Gas Update

Jostein Dahl Karlsen, Chair, IEA Gas and Oil Technology Initiative & Senior Policy Adviser, Norwegian Ministry of Petroleum and Energy
International Energy Agency Oil and Gas Technology Initiative, IEA GOT – Regional Policy Incentives in Oil and Gas – Role of Innovation and Regulation

Glenn Richardson, Managing Director, JobsOhio
The Oil and Gas Supply Chain


Public Outreach Committee

Doug Bannerman, Leader, Social Performance, DPNA Safety & Sustainability
Statoil Gulf Services LLC
API Community Engagement Guidelines

Bethany McCorkle, Chief of Communications, Ohio Department of Natural Resources
Sorting Fact from Fiction: A Regulatory Perspective

Rhonda Reda, Executive Director, Ohio Oil & Gas Energy Education Program
>>A Drill Bit Overview of Ohio’s Public Outreach and Education Initiatives


General Session

>>Chairman's Address
Governor Phil Bryant, Mississippi
2014 IOGCC Chairman


>>State of Play 

Moderator: Jim Zehringer, Director, Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Craig Butler, Director, Ohio EPA

Rick Simmers, Chief, Division of Oil & Gas Resources Management, Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Larry Flowers, State Fire Marshal, Ohio Department of Commerce

David Mustine, Managing Director, JobsOhio


Energy Resources, Research and Technology Committee

Panel: Regulating in a time of rapid technological change

​Steven Bohlen, State Oil and Gas Supervisor, California Department of Conservation

Robert Kleinberg, Unconventional Resources, Schlumberger

Randal F. LaFollette, Director, Applied Reservoir Technology, BakerHughes


Environment & Safety Committee

Sara Longan, Ph.D, Executive Director, Alaska Department of Natural Resources
>>Wetlands Mitigation in Alaska

Induced Seismicity Panel

Rick Simmers, Chief, Division of Oil & Gas Resources Management, Ohio Department of Natural Resources

>>Tim Baker, Director, Division of Oil & Gas, Oklahoma Corporation Commission

>>Glen Brown, Senior Vice President of Geology, Continental Resources